match report


NORTH SOUND, Antigua – West Indies “A” failed to build on a tidy, half-century opening stand between John Campbell and Sunil Ambris, and slumped to another defeat against India “A” by 148 runs in their One-day series.

Catch up with the highlight below!

Ambris scored 30 and Campbell made 21, putting on 51, but the rest of the batting failed to fire, except all-rounder Keemo Paul, whose 34 was the top score, as West Indies “A”, chasing 296 for victory, were bowled out for 147 in 34.2 overs in the third match of the series at the Vivian Richards Cricket Ground here.

WI A v IND A - Keemo Paul.jpg

None of the other home team batsmen reached 20, as Krunal Pandya scythed through the batting with a spell of 5-25 from seven overs.

The result meant that Roston Chase’s side now trail the five-match series 0-3, with the next match set for Thursday at the Coolidge Cricket Ground a few kilometres away.

Dropped catch - WI A v IND A.jpg

Earlier, off-spinner Rahkeem Cornwall and Romario Shepherd grabbed two wickets apiece, but they and the rest of the West Indies “A” attack failed to make inroads into the India “A” batting, as the visitors’ captain Manish Pandey hit a sparkling, even 100 and opener Shubman Gill supported with 77.

Rahkeem Cornwall - WI A v IND A.jpg

Shepherd grabbed the early scalp of Anmolpreet Singh for a four-ball duck, but Shreyas Iyer came to the crease and put on 109 for the second wicket with Gill.

Cornwall removed Gill and Iyer for 47 respectively, in the space of 11 deliveries to leave India “A” 137 for three, but Pandya shared 110 with Hanuma Vihari for the fourth wicket to consolidate their side’s advantage before the last six overs yielded 48.

The Indians won both the first and second One-day matches at the CCG and here respectively, by 65-run margins.


INDIA “A”(maximum 50 overs)

S. Gill c wkpr Thomas b Cornwall 77

A. Singh c Campbell b Shepherd 0

S. Iyer c Powell b Cornwall 47

*M. Pandey lbw b Shepherd 100

H. Vihari c Ambris b Reifer 29

+I. Kishan b Paul 24

K. Pandya not out 2

W. Sundar not out 3

Extras (w12, nb1) 13

TOTAL (6 wkts, 50 overs) 295

D. Chahar, A. Khan, N. Saini did not bat

Fall of wickets: 1-13, 2-122, 3-137, 4-247, 5-286, 6-292

Bowling: Shepherd 10-1-51-2 (w3); Jordan 5-0-37-0; Paul 10-0-53-1 (nb1, w2); Reifer 9-0-62-1 (w2); Cornwall 10-0-37-2 (w2); Chase 3-0-32-0 (w3); Powell 3-0-23-0

WEST INDIES “A” (target: 296 off 50 overs)

J. Campbell c Iyer b Saini 21

S. Ambris lbw b Khan 30

R. Reifer c Gill b Pandya 19

*R. Chase b Pandya 15

J. Carter c Sundar b Pandya 4

+D. Thomas c Vihari b Sundar 1

R. Powell c Iyer b Pandya 1

R. Cornwall c wkpr Kishan b Vihari 5

R. Shepherd c Vihari b Pandya 4

K. Paul c Saini b Vihari 34

A. Jordan not out 0

Extras (b4, lb6, w3) 13

TOTAL (all out, 34.2 overs) 147

Fall of wickets: 1-51, 2-65, 3-89, 4-102, 5-103, 6-103, 7-109, 8-109, 9-117

Bowling: Chahar 5-0-15-0; Saini 5-0-33-1 (w1); Sundar 10-0-27-1; Khan 5-0-14-1 (w2); Pandya 7-0-25-0; 2.2-0-23-2

Result: India “A” won by 148 runs

Series: India “A” lead five-match series 3-0

Toss: India “A”

Player-of-the-Match: Manish Pandey (India “A”)

Umpires: N. Duguid, P. Gustard

Match referee: V. Burnes

Reserve umpire: G. Brathwaite

Source: CWI Media

Related Players
Related Series
Related Grounds