Cricket is the heart and soul communities in the West Indies nations. Simply speaking, cricket matters: it brings joy, frustration, elation, employment, inspiration and healthy activity to millions of people. And because it matters so much, Cricket West Indies takes great pride and responsibility in growing, guiding and protecting cricket throughout the 16 English-speaking Caribbean countries which form the West Indies, represented internationally by the WINDIES men’s, women’s and age-group teams.

The West Indies international team, the WINDIES, is unique in cricket and in international sport. It is the only team in cricket that represents a group of nations, drawing on the strength, skills and passion of each nation to unite through cricket and take on the world.

CWI is the governing body for all professional and amateur cricket in the region, from the WINDIES international teams to tournaments such the West Indies Championship (4-Days) and the one day Super50 Cup and the women’s T20 Blaze.


West Indies cricket is the heartbeat of the Caribbean, loved by the world


To lead, inspire and unite cricket in the West Indies from thriving grassroots to exciting WINDIES teams, ensuring sustainable success


The growth of cricket in the West Indies relies on a web of regional stakeholders working together towards building this vibrant, much-loved and widely played sport. CWI is the governing body, responsible for growing and promoting the game, the WINDIES and our tournaments, and providing the structure and administration with policies, rules and programs to develop and guide the sport.

Six Territorial Boards do incredible work on the ground for their respective nations’ cricket, bringing cricket to schools, communities and clubs in each territory as well as developing individual cricketers to represent the WINDIES with skill and pride:

Barbados Cricket Association (BCA)

Guyana Cricket Board (GCB)

Jamaica Cricket Association (JCA)

Leeward Islands Cricket Board (LICB) – representing Antigua & Barbuda, Saint Kitts, Nevis, Anguilla, Montserrat, British Virgin Islands, US Virgin Islands, Saint Maarten

Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board (TTCB)

Windward Island Cricket Board (WICB) – representing Dominica, Grenada, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.


It all began in the 1880s, when the first combined West Indies team formed and toured Canada and the United States. In the 1890s, the first representative sides were selected to play visiting English sides.

The West Indies Cricket Board joined the sport’s international ruling body, the Imperial Cricket Council, in 1926, and played their first official international Test match, in 1928. Although blessed with great players in our early days as a Test nation, our success remained sporadic until the 1960s. By the late 1970s, the West Indies had a side recognised as unofficial world champions, filled with skilled batsmen, brilliant fielders and a fearsome pace bowling attack. Our team from the 1970s and 1980s is now widely regarded as one of the best in test cricket’s history, alongside Don Bradman‘s Australian “Invincibles”

The 1980s saw this great team set a then-record streak of 11 consecutive Test victories in 1984, which was part of a still-standing record of 27 tests without defeat (the other tests being draws), as well as inflicting two 5–0 “blackwashes” against the old enemy of England.

Whilst we have not achieved those consistent heights since, the WINDIES remains one of the most successful cricket teams in history. With access to a population that is under 0.1% of the world’s largest cricketing nation (India – population 1.34 billion), the WINDIES continue to outperform the rest of the world on a pound for pound basis.

In 2016, the WINDIES became the only team in history to be World Champions simultaneously in three ICC World Cup tournaments, the Men’s ICC World T20, the Women’s ICC World T20, and the ICC Under-19 World Cup


ICC World Cup Winners (50 Over): 1974, 1978

ICC World T20: 2012, 2016* (*Men and Women)

ICC Champions Trophy: 2004

ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup: 2016