Special Feature
WI congratulates 17 West Indian players chosen for IPL 2022

WI congratulates 17 West Indian players chosen for IPL 2022

Cricket West Indies (CWI) today congratulated the West Indies players chosen in the auction of the Indian Premier League (IPL) which was conducted in Bengaluru on Saturday and Sunday. From the large pool of available players, 14 West Indians were chosen to join Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine and Andre Russell, who were retained by their respective franchises ahead of the auction. The total price paid for the West Indies players is US$10,855 million. The 17 West Indians make up the largest number of foreign players in the IPL, from any territory outside of India.

Andre Russell - T20I - South Africa

The West Indians chosen in the auction were: Dwayne Bravo, Nicholas Pooran, Jason Holder, Shimron Hetmyer, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Rovman Powell, Dominic Drakes, Alzarri Joseph, Sherfane Rutherford, Fabian Allen, Obed McCoy, Evin Lewis and Kyle Mayers. 

Ricky Skerritt, CWI’s President said:

“I want to congratulate all of the West Indies players who have secured contracts to the various franchises in the IPL, which is the biggest and most lucrative global T20 franchise tournament. But I especially want to applaud those younger players who received their first full IPL contracts. This shows great faith in emerging West Indies talent. I continue to believe that our players can seek quality employment abroad, and still be positioned to operate constructively and successfully within the West Indies cricket system.”

Pooran said:

“I’m very thankful. I can’t wait for that journey to begin. But before that journey begins, I just want to give thanks to Cricket West Indies for laying the foundation for my career and I hope a lot of youngsters get that opportunity as well.”

Holder said:

Jason Holder - 5th T20I v England - 2022.jpg

“I want to thank the West Indies fans immensely for their support over the years and I want to thank Cricket West Indies for helping to develop my talent. I look forward to this opportunity and also look forward to what is ahead in West Indies cricket, so I can continue to build a legacy for the West Indies.”

CWI has allocated a window for the tournament each year in their ICC FTP and also guaranteed this to the players in their retainer contracts, therefore West Indies players are fully available to participate in the IPL each year. The IPL 2022 is slated to be played in April and May.

FULL LIST (with franchises and fees)

  • Andre Russell (Kolkata Knight Riders) – US$1.6 million
  • Nicholas Pooran (Sunrisers Hyderabad) – US$1.433 million
  • Jason Holder (Lucknow Super Giants) – US$1.166 million
  • Shimron Hetmyer (Rajasthan Royals) – US$1.133 million
  • Romario Shepherd (Sunrisers Hyderabad) – US$1.033 million
  • Kieron Pollard (Mumbai Indians) – US$800,000
  • Sunil Narine (Kolkata Knight Riders) – US$800,000
  • Odean Smith (Punjab Kings) – US$800,000
  • Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings) – US$586,000
  • Rovman Powell (Delhi Capitals) – US$373,000
  • Alzarri Joseph (Gujarat Titans) – US$320,000
  • Evin Lewis (Lucknow Super Giants) – US$266,000
  • Dominic Drakes (Gujarat Titans) – US$146,000
  • Sherfane Rutherford (Punjab Kings) – US$133,000
  • Fabian Allen (Mumbai Indian) – US$100,000
  • Obed McCoy (Rajasthan Royals) – US$100,000
  • Kyle Mayers (Lucknow Super Giants) – US$66,000