West Indies ‘A’ ready for start of “Test” series in Bangladesh

West Indies ‘A’ ready for start of “Test” series in Bangladesh

The stage is set for the start of the West Indies A Team tour of Bangladesh. After intense preparation over the weekend and on Monday the visitors will start with the first four-day Test match on Tuesday. The match will be played at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium. First ball daily is 12 midnight Eastern Caribbean/11pm Monday Jamaica Time.

Captain Joshua Da Silva is looking forward to the series and said the team is in good shape following the training sessions over the weekend and on Monday afternoon.

Da Silva said: “Since we arrived, we have acclimatized well, and we put in a lot of solid work in our three sessions. Everybody has gotten what they wanted out of it and all ready to go tomorrow. We are really excited at this opportunity to represent West Indies ‘A” against international opposition, which is not something we get very often.”

Da Silva added: “We want to win, so as a team we want to play a brand of cricket we will be proud of … that will bring the results we are looking for. We have a good team, and we are confident. We are confident that we can do well in these conditions.”

West Indies “A” Team will arrive in Bangladesh last Thursday and will play the three four-day “Test” matches at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium (SICS) in Sylhet. These matches will have full first-class status. This “A” team tour reciprocates the Bangladesh “A” team tour of the West Indies in August 2022, when the teams drew both a two-match series of four-day first-class matches and a three-match 50-over series at the Daren Sammy Stadium in Saint Lucia.

FULL SQUAD: Joshua DaSilva (Captain), Alick Athanaze, Yannic Cariah, Keacy Carty, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Tevin Imlach, Akeem Jordan, Brandon King, Jair McAllister, Zachary McCaskie, Kirk McKenzie, Gudakesh Motie, Anderson Phillip, Raymon Reifer, Kevin Sinclair


All matches at SICS, Sylhet

16-19 May: 1st “Test”

23-26 May: 2nd “Test”

30 May to 2 June: 3rd “Test”