Rashada Williams aiming to cement spot at West Indies Women's opener

Rashada Williams aiming to cement spot at West Indies Women's opener

Right-handed batter/wicketkeeper Rashada Williams has been working on improving her form coming into the eight-match series versus New Zealand Women. Williams indicated she has been working on executing shots that are in her sweet zone, something she has grappled with over the course of her career.

Having played in the recent 6ixty and Women’s CPL tournaments in St. Kitts, Williams is using the momentum she built there to stamp her name as an opening batter for the Maroon Warriors.

Williams said,

“I’ve been doing a lot of work back home with my coaches to be aggressive when needed when the ball comes into my zone, to back myself… filling the space left by Deandra is a big thing, but once I’m consistent I believe I will continue opening. I have goals for this series, I’m aiming for two half-centuries and moving on to get my first ODI ton.”

Both teams meet on Thursday September 22 for the 2nd CG United ODI at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium. First ball is 9:30am Eastern Caribbean/8:30am Jamaica time.

Fans can now purchase tickets for any of the matches at, the official Windies Tickets service presented by Mastercard. For all matches, adults can purchase general admission tickets online at US$5.00, with free admission for children under the age of 16 when accompanied by a paying adult. Seniors benefit from half price tickets. The stadium ticket office will open on the day of the rescheduled 1st CG United ODI with printed tickets available for EC$15.00/US$5.00. 

All eight matches will be streamed live in the Caribbean on ESPN Caribbean’s “ESPN Play” app and will be available around the world with some of CWI’s broadcast partners and on the Windies Cricket YouTube channel. Live ball-by-ball scoring will also be available on the ​ Match Centre. 

West Indies Women’s squad for 1st and 2nd CG United ODIs


1.    Hayley Matthews (Captain)

2.    Aaliyah Alleyne

3.    Shamilia Connell

4.    Afy Fletcher

5.    Shabika Gajnabi

6.    Chinelle Henry

7.  Kyshona Knight

8.   Natasha McLean

9.   Chedean Nation

10.  Karishma Ramharack

11.  Shakera Selman (Vice Captain)

12.  Stafanie Taylor

13.  Rashada Williams


Cherry Ann Fraser

Sheneta Grimmond

Jannillea Glasgow


All matches will be played at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium

CG United ODI Series

  • Monday 19 September: 1st CG United ODI, 9:30am Eastern Caribbean/8:30am Jamaica Time 
  • Thursday 22 September: 2nd CG United ODI, 9:30am Eastern Caribbean/8:30am Jamaica Time
  • Sunday 25 September: 3rd CG United ODI, 9:30am Eastern Caribbean/8:30am Jamaica Time

T20I Series

  • Wednesday 28 September: 1st T20I, 1:30pm Eastern Caribbean/12:30pm Jamaica time
  • Saturday 1 October: 2nd T20I, 10:00am Eastern Caribbean/11:00amm Jamaica time
  • Sunday 2 October: 3rd T20I, 1:30pm Eastern Caribbean/12:30pm Jamaica time
  • Wednesday 5 October: 4th T20I, 10:00am Eastern Caribbean/9:00am Jamaica Time
  • Thursday 6 October: 5th T20I, 1:30pm Eastern Caribbean/12:30pm Jamaica time