match report
Barbados win fifth in a row to be crowned CG United Women’s Super50 champions

Barbados win fifth in a row to be crowned CG United Women’s Super50 champions

Barbados Women’s team operated like a well-oiled machine in executing a seven-wicket victory over the Leeward Islands at Warner Park to be crowned CG United Women’s Super50 Cup champions for the third time in a row. Batting first on Wednesday, the Leewards posted 74 all out in 27.2 overs, Barbados’ best bowler was seamer Shakera Selman, who finished with figures of 5-1-9-3.

It was newcomers Allison Gordon and Asabi Callender who did the earlier damage. Gordon rocked back the stumps of Divya Saxena for two and trapped Melicia Clarke also for two. Callender, making her debut was entrusted with the new ball and she also took two wickets, when she removed the Leewards skipper Saneldo Willett and Amanda Edwards both without scoring.

Terez Parker was the lone Leewards batter to reach double figures, as she made 12 and shared in a 30-run partnership with Cherry-Ann Moses.

When Barbados batted Kycia Knight struck three fours on her way to a run-a-ball 13 before she was caught off Tonya Martin. Holder went on to score 18 with three fours. Alisa Scantlebury and Aaliyah Alleyne shared in 35-run fourth-wicket partnership to take Barbados to victory in 12 overs. Scantlebury and Alleyne were 14 and 21 not out respectfully. Kimberley Anthony was the best Leewards bowler, with figures of 4-1-20-2.

Skipper Hayley Matthews spoke to CWI Media after lifting the CG United trophy. She said:

We had high expectations so it was really good that we could have a good start to the tournament and finish it with a really good win. Throughout the tournament we had performances and contributions from everyone which was very pleasing, so just really happy overall. The juniors were given an opportunity to come through and find their game and they did exactly that. Very happy with the way the seniors and junior came together to win the title.”

Red Force Divas finish on a high with big win over Guyana

Anisa Mohammed played a captain’s knock but it was spin bowler Steffie Soogrim’s sensational six-wicket haul that led the Trinidad and Tobago Red Force Divas to a 77-run victory over Guyana at the St. Paul’s Ground.

Soogrim with her left-arm orthodox spin, had figures of 10-6-14-6, which destroyed the Guyanese batting, followed by off spinner Karishma Ramharack with 7.4-4-9-2 as Guyana finished their innings on 56-9 in 35.4 overs.

Earlier, the Red Force Divas posted 132-8 from their 50 overs, thanks to the fighting knock of 54 off 118 balls by skipper Anisa Mohammed and 19 not out from Ramharack. The Guyanese bowlers had the Red Force Divas on the back foot early with precision bowling. Shabika Gajnabi finished the innings with figures of 10-4-17-3 followed by Plaffiana Millington with 8-1-20-2.

Jamaica edge past the Windward Islands to finish with a win

Jamaica squeaked out an eight-run victory over the Windward Islands at Conaree Sports Ground to finish on a winning note.

Jody-Ann Brown topscored with 23 from and 16 from Chedean Nation helped Jamaica post 105 all out in 38.2 overs. Windwards skipper Afy Fletcher spun a web over the Jamaicans to finish with figures of 10-3-29-6 followed by seamer Pearl Etienne with 5-1-5-2.

The Windward Islands looked cruising to victory but Vanessa Watts and Nation combined for a take seven wickets bowl out the Windwards for 97. Malika Edwards and Pearl Etienne shared a 65-run partnership for the fifth wicket, when Nation removed her for 21, then got Edwards in the same over for 35.

The Windwards lost their last seven wickets for 20 runs. Watts had figures of 6-2-20-4 while Nation had 5.5-0-17-3 to be named the Player of the Match.

The players will now switch to the T20 Blaze tournament. The first round of matches will be played on Saturday at Warner Park.

CWI T20 Blaze (Rounds 1-4 played at Warner Park)

Round 1: Saturday 20 May

Windward Islands vs Guyana – 10am

Leeward Islands vs Jamaica – 2:30:pm

Trinidad & Tobago red Force Divas vs Barbados – 7pm

Round 2: Sunday 21 May

Windward Islands vs Leeward Islands – 10am

Guyana vs Barbados – 2:30pm

Jamaica vs Trinidad & Tobago Red Force Divas – 7pm

Round 3: Tuesday 23 May

Trinidad & Tobago Red Force Divas vs Windward Islands – 10am

Jamaica vs Barbados – 2:30pm

Guyana vs Leeward Islands – 7pm

Round 4: Thursday 25 May

Jamaica vs Guyana – 10am

Leeward Islands vs Trinidad & Tobago Red Force Divas – 2:30pm

Barbados vs Windward Islands – 7pm

Round 5: Saturday 27 May – 8am

Leeward Islands vs Barbados – Warner Park

Trinidad & Tobago Red Force Divas vs Guyana – St Paul’s

Jamaica vs Windward Islands – Conaree