Leewards Cricket



c/o Antigua & Barbuda Cricket Association 

Antigua Recreation Grounds
P.O. Box 478
St. John’s, Antigua


Tel: (268) 462 9089
Fax: (268) 462 9090
Email: licasecretariat@yahoo.com


President: Gregory Shillingford
Secretary: Flavia Logie



BASSETERRE, St Kitts ­ -- Gavin Tonge was in fine form with both bat and ball as he steered Omari Banks XI into a commanding position as the Leeward Islands began their first practice match for the 2009 West Indies Cricket Board’s Four-Day Regional Tournament.

Tonge blasted an attacking half century to steer his side to 232 and then picked up two wickets to leave the Runako Morton’s XI...

ST. JOHN'S, Antigua -- The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) has announced that the 2009 four-day regional tournament will feature a home and away format, which guarantees that first class players will now have the opportunity to play at least ten (10) first class matches a year.

An official release, issued by the WICB today (Sunday) pointed out that one of the key objectives of the Board’s Five Year...

BASSETERRE, St. Kitts -- The Leeward Islands will fine-tune their preparation for next year’s West Indies first-class season with a ten-day camp in St Kitts.

The training squad, with Runako Morton as captain and John Archibald as coach, will participate in the preparation camp from December 27 to January 5 after which a 14-man squad will be picked for the opening match. During the camp, the 27...

ST. JOHN'S, Antigua -- The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) has broken new ground with the hosting of a pre-event seminar for its 2009 Cricket Season.

Held at the Jolly Beach Resort in Antigua on Wednesday, the seminar was part of the Board’s new Strategic Plan Initiative in which the Board has expanded all of its events planning processes to embrace the Territorial Boards across the region.


PROVIDENCE, Guyana – The final of the WICB Limited Overs Competition will be contested between Trinidad and Tobago and Barbados.  This, after Barbados convincingly defeated the Leeward Islands by 168 runs on Saturday to earn to right to face their arch rivals in Sunday's final. 

Playing at the National Stadium at Providence, Barbados got good contributions from three of their top order...

GEORGETOWN -- Leeward Islands, Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago all got good performances from key players to register big wins as the West Indies Cricket Board’s One-Day Tournament continued on Monday in Guyana.

Leeward Islands worked hard for their 62-run win over Barbados at Uitvulgt. Off-spinner Omari Banks took 4-51 from 10 overs as the Bajans were shot out for 110 in 31.2 overs, after the Leewards...

GEORGETOWN, Guyana -- Results from the third round of matches in the West Indies Cricket Board’s One-Day Tournament played in Guyana on Saturday:

At Blairmont:

GUYANA 170 off 26.2 overs (Travis Dowlin 59, Royston Crandon 54; Liam Sebastien 5-28, Nelon Pascal 4-33). WINDWARDS 174-7 off 26.4 overs (Devon Smith 68, Darren Sammy 38, Johnson Charles 27; Veerasammy Permaul 2-21, Steven Jacobs 2-32)...

GEORGETOWN -- Heavy rain has caused a delay in the start of all three matches Round 3 of the West Indies Cricket Board’s One-Day Tournament in Guyana on Saturday.

The three matches scheduled are:

Jamaica vs United States at Everest

Trinidad & Tobago and Canada at Uitvlugt

Guyana vs Windward Islands at Blairmont

GEORGETOWN -- Combined Campuses and Colleges (CCC) registered a big win by 70 runs over the Windward Islands on Day 2 of the West Indies Cricket Board’s One-Day Tournament in Guyana on Friday. There was also a victory for Barbados, by 110 runs (Duckworth/Lewis Method) over the United States of America, while Trinidad and Tobago trounced the Leeward Islands by 9 wickets as the tournament entered the second...

GEORGETOWN, Guyana -- Scorecard for the Trinidad & Tobago versus Leeward Islands encounter in the Regional Limited Overs Competition.

Trinidad and Tobago vs Leeward Islands

(at Bourda)

LEEWARDS (Maximum 43 overs)

A Richards c wk Mohammed b Bardee 21

K Powell c Barath b Emrit 30

*R Morton c and b Badree 24

O Banks lbw b Emrit 56

T Willett run out 19