Logie encouraged by new Bermuda squad

HAMILTON, Bermuda - Bermuda's coach Gus Logie is encouraged by his young squad's spirit and commitment as they get ready for International Cricket Council (ICC) Twenty20 qualifiers in Belfast early next month.

The former West Indies batsman and coach praised the team's effort coming off a successful outing in Canada and expressed delight that his younger players are showing good promise.

"This new-look squad that exhibited a good fighting attitude and approach during our tour of Canada and the game against Scotland is now looking forward to yet another opportunity to further enhance their growing reputation as we challenge ourselves to continue maturing on the world stage," Logie said in a Royal Gazette newspaper story this week.

In their recent series against Canada, the Bermudians defeated Canada 2-1 in a One-Day International (ODI) series and also won against the Canadians for their Intercontinental Cup victory in three years.

Logie is pleased that four players from Bermuda's ICC Under-19 World Cup squad earlier this year are fitting into the senior set-up.

For their last match, Bermuda had eight players that were 25 or younger in their line-up.

"The development of our younger players and the transition of many of the Under-19 players into the senior national team is a heartwarming experience and I look forward to their continued improvement at the international level," Logie added.

For the ICC Twenty20 qualifiers, the finalists in Ireland will automatically qualify for the 2009 Twenty/20 World Cup finals, while the beaten semi-finalists will play off to determine a third qualifier.

The Bermuda squad will leave for Ireland on July 28 and will also engage West Indies and Canada in a triangular series in Toronto after their Ireland assignment.

Bermuda Squad - Irving Romaine (captain), Rodney Trott, David Hemp, Stephen Outerbridge, Jekon Edness, Stefan Kelly, OJ. Pitcher, Oronde Bascome, Kyle Hodsoll, Christopher Foggo, Dwayne Leverock, James Celestine, Tamauri Tucker, George O'Brien Jr.