Smith steers Grenada to Windwards title

ROSEAU, Dominica (CMC) - West Indies opening batsman Devon Smith hit a brilliant century and helped Grenada capture the 2008 Windward Island cricket championship two-day title on Saturday.

Grenada secured the title by virtue of achieving first innings points in the drawn encounter over Dominica at the Windsor Park Sports Stadium.

The home team had scored 196 all out after winning the toss Friday and choosing to bat first.

Kevin James top-scored for Dominica with 62.

Shane Shillingford scored 30 and Samuel Mitchel added 27.

Bowling for Grenada, spinner Denis George continued his fine form as he grabbed six for 51, while John Olive claimed two for 37.

In reply, Grenada compiled 260 with the left-handed Smith smashing 130.

During an almost five-hour stay at the crease, Smith stroked 10 fours and a six.

Heron Campbell and skipper Rawl Lewis supported with contributions of 35 and 22 respectively.

Bowling for Dominica, Jean Paul took three from 25, while Ray Casimir finished with three for 61. Martin Matthew took two for 31.

Batting a second time, Dominica reached 109 for nine.

Only Shane Shillingford (23) provided a score of note as George took three for 19 to push his three-game tally to 24 wickets.

Lewis took three for 31 and Camillus Alexander claimed two for 18.