West Indies settle in at Christchurch

CHRISTCHURCH -- The West Indies Cricket Team is upbeat and fully focussed on the challenge of taking on New Zealand in the coming weeks.

This is the word from Team Manager Omar Khan, as the players continue preparations for the upcoming tour. Since arriving in Christchurch the players have had several sessions to get acclimatized to the conditions and have also had a net session with Head Coach John Dyson.

Khan also noted that all the players have settled in well and are eagerly looking forward to the series. The opening fixture will be a three-day match against Auckland which starts next Friday.

“Everyone has settled in and we are looking forward to the matches ahead. We are moving ahead with the preparations for what will be a very important tour,” Khan said. “The first match is a week away so we have time for all the players to get fully ready for the series.”

Newcomers Brendan Nash and Leon Johnson said they were both happy with the preparations so far and they were hoping to get opportunities in the upcoming series -- which includes two Tests, two T20 Internationals and five One-Day Internationals.

“We had a good day out and everything is going smoothly,” Nash said after Thursday’s session. “We had a ‘hit’ and it would good to get into that zone.”

The 21-year-old Johnson added: “Things are going well. I had a good work-out and I’m looking forward to the series.”


Friday, Dec 5 to Sunday, Dec 7: vs Auckland at Eden Park Outer Oval

Thursday, Dec 11 to Monday, Dec 15: 1st Test at University Oval, Dunedin

Friday Dec 19 to Tuesday, Dec 23: 2nd Test at McLean Park, Napier

Friday, Dec 26: 1st T20 International at Eden Park, Auckland

Sunday, Dec 28: 2nd T20 International at Seddon Park, Hamilton

Wednesday, Dec 31: 1st ODI at Queenstown Event Centre, Queenstown

Saturday, Jan 3: 2nd ODI at AMI Stadium, Christchurch

Wednesday, Jan 7: 3rd ODI at Westpac Stadium, Wellington

Saturday Jan 10: 4th ODI at Eden Park, Auckland

Tuesday, Jan 13: 5th ODI at McLean Park, Napier

SQUAD: Chris Gayle (Captain), Ramnaresh Sarwan (Vice Captain), Lionel Baker, Carlton Baugh Jnr, Sulieman Benn, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Sewnarine Chattergoon, Fidel Edwards, Leon Johnson, Xavier Marshall, Brendan Nash, Daren Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Kemar Roach, Jerome Taylor.