Shivnarine Chanderpaul named in Wisden's Dream Test XI

ST. JOHN'S, Antigua -- The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) today (Saturday) congratulated middle order batsman Shiv Chanderpaul, on securing yet another prestigeous international cricket accolade.

Chanderpaul, the International Cricket Council’s 2008 International Cricketer of The Year, has been named in Wisden’s first ever Test Match Dream Team X1. 

Other members of the Wisden Dream Team are  India’s Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Harbhajan Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Zaheer Khan, Australia’s Ricky Pontin and Mitchell Johnson; England’s Kevin Pietersen and South Africa’s Graham Smith and Dale Steyn.

In an official statement today (Saturday) WICB Present, Dr. Julian Hunte, said the Board shared the pride of all fans and supporters of West Indies cricket, on learning of Shiv’s inclusion in Wisden’s first-ever Dream Team.  Said Dr. Hunte: “ This latest accolade provides more evidence of world-wide acknowledgement of Shiv’s dedication and unswerving commitment to his game.”

“We are extremely proud to join the international cricket fraternity in another salute to Shiv Chanderpaul.”

Chanderpaul is the only batsman in the history of Test cricket to have faced 1000 consecutive deliveries without getting out and is one of only six (6) players to have gone 1000 minutes in Test cricket without conceding his wicket.  Chanderpaul has done this four (4) times and is the only player to have done so more than once.

In 2008, the year in which Chanderpaul was named the ICC’s International Cricketer of the Year, he played eight (8) Test matches, scoring 819 runs at an average of 91.00, including three (3) centuries, and six (6) 50s, all against the top seven teams in the world.