World Twenty20 2010 to be launched in Barbados

JOHANNESBURG -- The International Cricket Council’s World Twenty20 2010 Tournament, due to be played in the Caribbean next year, will be launched in Barbados later this month. The ICC announced on Friday that the event will have an official launch by the ICC’s Chief Executive, Mr Haroon Lorgat, on October 31 with tickets going on sale the day after. The news came following the ICC’s ICC’s Chief Executives’ Committee (CEC) meeting in Johannesburg, South Africa.

The men’s World Twenty20 2010, will be the third edition of the tournament and will be played in Barbados, Guyana and St Lucia next April and May. The second ICC Women’s World T20 will be played in St Kitts in May 2010.

The ICC’s CEC has four meetings per year to discuss a range of issues relating to the playing and the business of cricket, some of which will be considered by the ICC Board when it next meets, also in Johannesburg in four days’ time (October 6 and 7).

 The ICC’s CEC also noted that with the current Future Tours Programme (FTP) due to conclude in May 2012, CEC continued to engage in developing a further draft of the FTP post-2012. This followed feedback received by ICC management from Members. This process is ongoing and includes a working draft to be presented to the next Board meeting.

CEC also enhanced the scope of the Test working group which was looking at ways to enhance and promote Test cricket as the pinnacle of the game. This group will now include all the Full Member chief executives and will also look at developing context for all three formats of the game at international level.

A discussion took place on the promotion of cricket. It was agreed to extend the scope of the project from promotion to include product research and analysis concerning Test, One-Day Internationals and T20 International cricket. A competitive analysis of other sports and entertainment products will be carried out and there will be further research carried out into various proposals for product development and variation of Test cricket, such as day/night Test matches.

Details on the International Cricket Council’s World Twenty20 Tournament to be played in the West Indies in April and May 2010:

Barbados: Kensington Oval
Guyana: National Stadium, Providence
St Lucia: Beausejour Stadium
St Kitts: Warner Park

Men’s Tournament
Group A: Pakistan, Bangladesh, Australia
Group B: Sri Lanka, New Zealand, Zimbabwe
Group C: South Africa, India, Qualifier 1
Group D: West Indies, England, Qualifier 2

Tournament Schedule
Friday, April 30 -- Opening ceremony at Providence, Guyana
West Indies v Qualifier 2; Sri Lanka v New Zealand at Providence, Guyana

Saturday, May 1 -- St Lucia: India v Qualifier 1; Pakistan v Bangladesh
Guyana: England v Qualifier 2

Sunday, May 2 -- St Lucia: South Africa v India; Pakistan v Australia
Guyana: New Zealand v Zimbabwe

Monday, May 3 -- Guyana: West Indies v England; Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe

Tuesday, May 4 -- Barbados: South Africa v Qualifier 1; Bangladesh v Australia

Thursday, May 6 -- Barbados: A1 v D2; C1 v B2

Friday, May 7 -- Barbados: A2 v C2; B1 v D1

Saturday, May 8 -- Barbados: C1 v D2; A1 v B2

Sunday, May 9 -- Barbados: C2 v D1; B1 v A2

Monday, May 10 -- St Lucia: B2 v D2; A1 v C1

Tuesday 11 May 11 -- St Lucia: B1 v C2; D1 v A2

Thursday, May 13 -- St Lucia: 1st semi-final

Friday, May 14 -- St Lucia: 2nd semi-final

FINAL: Sunday, May 16 – Barbados

Women’s Tournament

Group A: England, Australia, West Indies, South Africa

Group B: New Zealand, India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan

Women’s Schedule (First round matches in St Kitts)
Wednesday, May 5 -- West Indies v South Africa; England v Australia
Thursday, May 6 -- Sri Lanka v Pakistan; New Zealand v India
Friday, May 7 -- Australia v South Africa; England v West Indies
Saturday, May 8 -- India v Pakistan; New Zealand v Sri Lanka
Sunday, May 9 -- England v South Africa; Australia v West Indies
Monday, May 10 -- New Zealand v South Africa; India v Sri Lanka

Thursday, May 13 -- St Lucia: 1st semi-final
Friday, May 14 -- St Lucia: 2nd semi-final

FINAL: Sunday, May 16 – Barbados