Liburd to lead Leeward Islands in WICB President?s Cup

ST. JOHN'S, Antigua -- Steve Liburd has been named to captain the Leeward Islands in the upcoming West Indies Cricket Board’s President’s Cup limited-overs tournament which is slated to bowl off on Wednesday. The 24-year-old right-handed top-order batsman was confirmed as the Leewards named their 14-member squad for the week-long tournament in Guyana.

The team includes four players with international experience – right-handed batsman Runako Morton, left-handed opener Kieran Powell; and fast bowlers Gavin Tonge and Lionel Baker, who are expected to share the new ball.

The Leeward Islands are scheduled to face Guyana in their opening match at Enmore on Wednesday. They are in Zone B alongside Barbados and West Indies Under-19s, who are using the tournament as preparation for the International Cricket Council’s Under-19 World Cup to be played in New Zealand in January.

Zone A includes defending champions Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica, Windward Islands and Combined Campuses and Colleges.

Squad: Steve Liburd (captain), Codville Rogers, Kieran Powell, Runako Morton, Tonito Willett, Wilden Cornwall, Gavin Williams, Elsroy Powell, Gavin Tonge, Justin Athanaze, Anthony Martin, Chesney Hughes, Jamar Hamilton, Lionel Baker.