Barbados and Guyana ready to go head-to-head in Caribbean final

Venue: Queen’s Park Oval, Port-of-Spain
Date: Saturday, July 31
First-ball: 8 pm (7 pm Jamaica Time)
Coverage: ESPN and ESPN2
Highlights package on CMC stations day after the match
CMC radio across the Caribbean

The wait is finally over. We are down to the grand finale and both Barbados and Guyana have played unbeaten so far, and will approach Saturday’s match with confidence. From the look of it, we have two evenly matched teams and this will be a close encounter. It is hard to pick a winner.
The Guyanese showed toughness as they won a cliffhanger in the semi-final against Trinidad and Tobago, while the Barbadians had an easier path in their semi against Jamaica. The Bajans have also been strong mentally in the tournament – having come away with a sensational victory in the one-over eliminator against Combined Campuses & Colleges. They have batted well – with scores of 180-6, 159-6 and 154-4. They need to tighten up in the field and also to be more penetrative with the ball.
The Guyanese have been playing good allround cricket. Without being spectacular, they have managed to play well in all three departments, and have worked hard for their wins. Against CCC they chased down a challenging target and then did brilliantly against Trinidad and Tobago. Catches win matches, and they have been excellent in the field.
A lot is at stake. The winning team will take home the sparkling, new Caribbean T20 trophy as well as US$25 000. They will also have the honour of representing the region at the Airtel Champions League in South Africa in September. Another large crowd is expected. In the two days of play in Trinidad so far over 26 000 fans have watched the action – just over 14 000 on Wednesday and 12 600 on Friday.

Expected to welcome back their fastest bowler Kemar Roach who missed Friday night’s semi-final due to a head injury. He was struck during the team’s net session on Friday morning. A decision on his participation will be made shortly before the start of the match. All other players are fit and available for selection.
Squad: Ryan Hinds (captain), Jason Hinds, Alcindo Holder, Javon Searles, Kevin Stoute, Larry Babb, Sulieman Benn, Jonathan Carter, Kirk Edwards, Kemar Roach, Carlo Morris, Dale Richards, Ashley Nurse, Dwayne Smith; Emmerson Trotman (coach)
Guyana: Have no injury worries. All players are available for selection.
Squad: Ramnaresh Sarwan (captain), Sewnarine Chattergoon, Christopher Barnwell, Travis Dowlin, Narsingh Deonarine, Derwin Christian, Lennox Cush, Royston Crandon, Devendra Bishoo, Esaun Crandon, Jonathan Foo, Paul Wintz, Steven Jacobs, Assad Fudadin; Ravindranauth Seeram (coach)

Ryan Hinds (Barbados):
This is the big match! We are all looking forward to it. We are going to come out and entertain the crowd and look to win. We will continue to play our brand of cricket, which is “total team cricket”.
Ramnaresh Sarwan (Guyana): We have all to play for. We are going to go out there and give it all we have … no holding back. This is what we came here for – to win the Tournament. We are very confident we can win.

Sulieman Benn (Barbados):
The tall left-arm spinner is among the leading T20 bowlers in the game. He will be the main weapon in the bowling attack.
Dwayne Smith (Barbados): The leading allrounder, he has played in three other T20 leagues around the world. He can clear the boundary with ease, is a clever medium-pacer, and brilliant fielder.
Jonathan Carter (Barbados): A highly-rated left-handed middle-order batsman who has the ability to guide the innings. He is also a livewire in the outfield.
Lennox Cush (Guyana): The 35-year-old off-spinner is among the CT20’s leading bowlers with two four-wicket hauls. He had a brilliant hat-trick against CCC.
Jonathan Foo (Guyana): Before CT20 few people knew of the 19-year-old Foo. He is an all-action player – free-scoring right-hander with a strike rate of 190 and a brilliant fielder.
Christopher Barnwell (Guyana): A bustling medium-fast bowler who can bowl the new ball and also a pinch-hitter who can change the game with his power-hitting.

: Norman Malcolm, Billy Doctrove
Television umpire: Clyde Duncan
Fourth official: Clancy Mack
Match referee: Clyde Cumberbatch