Trini girls set to defend title at Windies Women's Tourney

Defending champions Trinidad and Tobago will face Guyana in their opening match of the West Indies Cricket Board's Women's League 50-over tournament in St Vincent. The Trinidadians will be looking to get off to a winning start when the two sides meet at the Sion Hill Playing Field on Thursday at 10 am (9 am Jamaica Time).

The champs have a number of international players in their line-up and will be looking to take back-to-back titles. This year Trinidad and Tobago will be without their inspirational captain Merissa Aguilleira. The experienced wicket-keeper, who is also the West Indies women’s team captain, is still recovering after a recent knee operation.

The captaincy is in the capable hands of off-spinning allrounder Anisa Mohammed, who is also among the leading bowlers in the region. Trinidad and Tobago have been drawn in Zone B alongside the Guyanese, Grenada and home side St Vincent and the Grenadines.

The other zone is made up of last year’s second-placed team Jamaica, Barbados, St Lucia and Dominica. The Jamaicans are the favoured team in this zone. They will have a tough test when they meet an experienced Barbados side in the opening match in Thursday.

Jamaica have a new captain in Stafanie Taylor, the highly-rated right-handed opener. She is listed in the Top 10 of the International Cricket Council’s One-Day batting rankings and will be looking to dominate again at the regional level. Her Vice Captain is Shanel Daley, the Windies left-arm spinner.

Please see below full list of fixtures for the West Indies Cricket Board’ Women’s League 50-over tournament to be played in St Vincent. All matches start at 10 am.
Zone A: Jamaica, Barbados, St Lucia, Dominica
Zone B: Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana, St Vincent and the
Grenadines, Grenada

Thursday, August 12
Jamaica v Barbados at Arnos Vale 1
St Lucia v Dominica at Stubbs
Trinidad and Tobago v Guyana at Sion Hill
St Vincent and Grenadines v Grenada at Arnos Vale 2

Friday, August 13
Jamaica v St Lucia at Sion Hill
Barbados v Dominica at Arnos Vale 2
Trinidad and Tobago v St Vincent and the Grenadines at Arnos Vale 1
Guyana v Grenada at Stubbs

Sunday, August 15
Dominica v Jamaica at Stubbs
St Lucia v Barbados at Arnos Vale 2
Grenada v Trinidad and Tobago at Sion Hill
Guyana v St Vincent and the Grenadines at Arnos Vale 1

Monday, August 16
Semi-final 1: 1st of Zone A v 2nd of Zone B at Arnos Vale 2
Semi-final 2: 1st of Zone B v 2nd of Zone A at Arnos Vale 1
Play-off 1: 3rd of Zone A v 4th of Zone B at Stubbs
Play-off 2: 4th of Zone A v 3rd of Zone B at Sion Hill

Wednesday, August 18
Final: Winners of semi-final 1 v Winners of semi-final 2 at Arnos Vale 1
3rd place play-off: Losers of semi-final v Losers of semi-final 2 at Stubbs
Winners of play-off 1 v Winners of play-off 2 at Arnos Vale 1
Losers of play-off 1 v Losers of play-off 2 at Sion Hill