Swann included in ICC Cricketer of the Year category

The International Cricket Council (ICC) today announced that England’s off-spinner Graeme Swann has been included in the ICC Cricketer of the Year category at the LG ICC Awards which will take place at a glittering ceremony in Bengaluru, India on October 6.

Clive Lloyd, the West Indies legend who headed the selection panel, which included former international players Angus Fraser of England, Matthew Hayden of Australia, Ravi Shastri of India and Zimbabwe’s Duncan Fletcher, said: “It was a genuine oversight on the part of the committee as Graeme fully deserved to be nominated in this category. “Graeme, during the voting period, produced some very strong performances which puts him alongside the other top performers. On behalf of the selection panel, I apologise for this oversight.”

During the voting period, which was from 24 August 2009 to 10 August 2010, Swann took 49 wickets, including six five-wicket hauls in an innings and one 10-wicket haul in a match. The 31-year-old, who was also a member of England’s ICC World Twenty20 2010 winning squad, also took 28 ODIs wickets at an average of 23.28 with an economy rate of 4.46 during the qualification period.