Sagicor HPC players in Barbados squad for regional 50-over tourney

Three members of the Sagicor West Indies High Performance Centre are among 29 players invited to trials by the Barbados Cricket Association (BCA) for the West Indies Cricket Board's One-Day Championship. The three are allrounder Shamarh Brooks, the former West Indies Under-19 captain; fast bowling all-rounder Jason Holder and wicket-keeper/batsman Shane Dowrich – who were both members of the West Indies Under-19 which played third at the ICC World Cup earlier this year.

All three have played at the first-class level and are among the squad currently at the inaugural Sagicor HPC which is based here at the 3Ws Oval at the Cave Hill Campus of the University of the West Indies.

In a media release late Friday, the BCA said that training and fitness sessions are to start on Tuesday, August 24 at the Police Sports Complex, Weymouth just outside Bridgetown. They will continue every Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday until October 7.

The squad will be under the supervision of Henderson Springer, the BCA’s Director of Coaching. He will be assisted by the BCA’s coaching staff comprising Emmerson Trotman, Vasbert Drakes and Dexter Toppin. Shannon Lashley will perform the role of trainer.

Squad: Larry Babb, Sulieman Benn, Tino Best, Carlos Brathwaite, Shamarh Brooks, Jonathan Carter, Nikolai Charles, Shane Dowrich, Kirk Edwards, Corey Edwards, Kirk Gibson, Marlon Graham, Jamar Griffith, Jason Haynes, Ryan Hinds, Jason Holder, Kyle Hope, Joel Leacock, Carlo Morris, Martin Nurse, Ashley Nurse, Dale Richards, Kemar Roach, Jevon Searles, Dwayne Smith, Kevin Stoute, Omar Wiggins, Kenroy Wiliams