Windies among teams gearing up for ICC Women?s Cricket Challenge

The final squads to participate in the International Cricket Council’s Women’s Cricket Challenge, from October 6 to 16, 2010, have been announced.  The tournament, which will be held in Potchefstroom, South Africa, will bring together teams ranked between fifth and tenth place in the world to compete in a series of One-Day International (ODI) and Twenty20 matches.

Teams competing in the tournament include the host nation, South Africa, event favourites, West Indies, as well as Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Ireland and Netherlands. The results of the ODI event will determine the new women’s ODI team rankings, behind the top four of England, New Zealand, India and Australia. The tournament, which is held in association with Cricket South Africa (CSA), will bring about a greater focus on women’s cricket within South Africa and the world of cricket at large.

CSA Senior Cricket manager, Maxwell Jordaan is optimistic about the impact that the event will make.
“The ICC Women’s Cricket Challenge is a significant step forward to promote the women’s game. By providing the chance for the ODI teams outside of the top four ranked countries, who have traditionally dominated global ICC tournaments, to play each other in an event environment, we hope to narrow the gap in playing standards between the top ten ODI teams."

Jordaan added: “The competition also provides an exciting opportunity for Ireland and the Netherlands, who haven’t experienced playing at the recent ICC World Twenty20 women’s events, the chance to play against the leading international sides in two formats of the game.”

Speaking ahead of the tournament, South Africa’s new coach, Yashin Ebrahim, who formerly was coach of the Nashua Dolphins men’s side said: “I’m looking forward to this new challenge considering that this is the first time that I will be involved in women’s cricket. Everything is different, from the pace of the game to the overall way in which it is played compared to the men. My team has been hard at work and this tournament should be a great platform to show the many improvements I have seen.”

The tournament begins on October 6 with a clash between Pakistan and Ireland at the North Western University 1 Cricket Ground. The ODI event will take place between October 6 to 12 and the T20 tournament will run from October 14 to 16.

: Laura Delany, Kimberley Garth, Cecelia Joyce, Isobel Joyce, Amy Kenealy, Suzanne Kenealy, Louise McCarthy, Ciara Metcalfe, Eimear Richardson, Melissa Scott Hayward, Clare Shillington, Nicola Symmons, Mary Waldron and Jill Whelan.
Netherlands: Danielle Braat, Laura Brouwers, Evelien Gerritse, Caroline de Groot, Denise Hannema, Mariska Kornet, Esther de Lange, Esther Lanser, Marijn Nijman, Denise Prins, Helmien Rambaldo, Anne-Maria Tanke, Miranda Veringmeier and Violet Wattenberg.
Pakistan: Sana Mir, Marina Iqbal, Nain Abidi, Bismah Maroof, Miaram Hassan Shah, Javeria Wadood, Nida Rashid, Kanwal Naz, Bibi Nahida, Batool Fatima, Shumaila Qureshi, Asmavia Iqbal, Kainat Imtiaz and Sania Iqbal
South Africa: Cri-Zelda Brits, Mignon Du Preez, Dane van Niekerk, Marizanne Kapp, Shandre Fritz, Sunette Loubser, Shabnum Ismail, Trish Chetty, Angelique Taai, Denisha Devnarain, Moseline Daniels, Mazabatha Klaas, Jana Nel and Marcia Letsoalo
Sri Lanka: Shashikala Siriwardana, Chamari Athapaththu, Suwini de Alwis, Chamani Seneviratne, Sandamali Dolawatta, Eshani Lokusooriya, Sripali Weerakkody, Dilani Manodara, Hiruka Fernando, Deepika Rasangika, Chamari Polgampola, Udeshika Prabodhani, Lasanthi Madushani Heenatigala and Sanduni Abeyawickrama
West Indies: Merissa Aguilleira (captain), Anisa Mohammed (vice captain), Pearl Etienne, Subrina Munroe, Stacy Ann King, Britney Cooper, , Shemaine Campbelle, Tremayne Smartt, Shanel Daley, Stafanie Taylor, Juliana Nero, Cordel Jack, Shakera Selman, Deandra Dottin.


One-Day Internationals

October 6 – Pakistan v Ireland (NWU 1); West Indies v Netherlands (Witrand); South Africa v Sri Lanka (Senwes)
October 7 – Netherlands v Sri Lanka (NWU 1); Ireland v West Indies (NWU 2); Pakistan v South Africa (Witrand)
October 8 – Rest/Reserve Day
October 9 – West Indies v Sri Lanka (NWU 1); Netherlands v Pakistan (NWU 2); Ireland v South Africa (Witrand)
October 10 – South Africa v West Indies (NWU 1); Sri Lanka v Pakistan (NWU 2); Ireland v Netherlands (Senwes)
October 11 – Rest/Reserve Day
October 12 – South Africa v Netherlands (NWU 2); Sri Lanka v Ireland (Witrand); West Indies v Pakistan (Senwes)

T20 Internationals

T20 Group A: West Indies (fifth), South Africa (seventh), Netherlands 10th
T20 Group B: Pakistan (sixth), Sri Lanka (eighth), Ireland (ninth)
October 14 – West Indies v South Africa (NWU 1); Pakistan v Sri Lanka (NWU 2)
October 14 – South Africa v Netherlands (NWU 1); Sri Lanka v Ireland (NWU 2)
October 15 – Rest/Reserve Day
October 16 – Netherlands v West Indies (NWU 1); Ireland v Pakistan (NWU 2)
October 16 – A1 v B1 (NWU 1); A2 v B2 (NWU 2); A3 v B3 (Witrand)