Guyana looking for change of fortune as they face Highveld Lions

Johannesburg, South Africa: Guyana will have a massive match on Sunday when they face Highveld Lions of South Africa in their third Group B match at the Wanderers Ground in Johannesburg. So far the Amazon Conquerors have lost both their games in this Airtel Champions League T20 tournament and will need a win to stay alive.

It is a home game for the Lions who play all their matches at the historic venue. The pitch is expected to offer some pace and bounce and the outfield will be very fast. In the highveld the new ball moves around alot in the early overs and the team which wins the toss is expected to bowl first in this afternoon contest. First ball is 1.30 pm (7.30 am Eastern Caribbean Time/6.30 am Jamaica Time).

Guyana skipper Ramanaresh Sarwan noted that there could be changes to the starting line-up after the last defeat against Mumbai Indians on Thursday. “We should make a few changes and we will have a serious look at our batting order since we have not been able to really get going in the first five overs and is an area of concern,” Sarwan said after Saturday’s training session.

There has been a lot of talk in South Africa about the excellent performances of Devendra Bishoo, the little leg-spinner. South African players are not exactly the best players of spin and in Bishoo Guyana have just the bowler who can exploit this chink in the Lions’ armour. In the match against Mumbai, when Sachin Tendulkar and his men were looking to step on the gas, Bishoo managed to pull things back a little for Guyana and even had the maestro stumped off his bowling. Another solid performance will do his reputation no harm.

Ramnaresh Sarwan (captain), Lennox Cush, Sewnarine Chattergoon, Travis Dowlin, Chris Barnwell, Jonathon Foo, Royston Crandon, Derwin Christian, Esuan Crandon, Paul Wintz, Devendra Bishoo, Steven Jacobs, Assad Fudadin, Richard Ramdeen, Narsingh Deonarine
Highveld Lions: Alviro Petersen (captain), Craig Alexander, Shane Burger, Richard Cameron, Werner Coetsee, Cliff Deacon, Zander de Bruyn, Robert Frylinck, Neil McKenzie, Ethan O’Reilly, Aaron Phangiso, Jean Symes, Thami Tsolekile, Jonathan Vandiar, Vaughn van Jaarsveld