Gayle at the helm as Jamaica name 14-man squad for WICB 50-Over Tourney

Kingston, Jamaica - The Jamaica Cricket Association selectors on Tuesday announced a 14-man squad for the West Indies Cricket Board's 50-Over Tournament to be played in Jamaica from October 14 to 24. Chris Gayle, the powerful left-handed opener and one of the most feared batsmen in world cricket, will lead the side. He returns to the helm and takes over from Tamar Lambert who led the side in the WICB’s Caribbean T20 tournament played in July and August.

The squad includes a number of players with international experience as well as others who have played for the West Indies A Team. One key members of the side is left-arm spinner Nikita Miller, who has been dominant at the regional level. Speaking on Tuesday he said the aim will be to win the tournament, especially playing at home.

“There is always the added pressure of playing at home but as a team we enjoy playing at home in front of our supporters. The expectations are great and momentum is building ahead of the tournament. I am sure we will do very well once we play together as a team,” Miller said.

Jamaica have been drawn in Group A alongside Windward Islands, Trinidad and Tobago and Combine Campuses & Colleges. Their first match is against the Windwards at the Trelawny Multi-Purpose Stadium.

SQUAD: Chris Gayle (captain), Tamar Lambert, Carlton Baugh, Odean Brown, Horace Miller, Xavier Marshall, Andrew Richardson, Marlon Samuels, Nikita Miller, David Bernard, Danza Hyatt, Brendan Nash, Andre Russell, Krishmar Santokie

WICB 50-Over Tournament 2010 Schedule
Thursday October 14
Combined Campuses & Colleges v Trinidad & Tobago at Chedwin Park
Windward Islands v Jamaica at Trelawny Multi Purpose Stadium
Friday October 15
Leeward Islands v Barbados at Sabina Park
Sagicor HPC v Guyana at Chedwin Park
Saturday October 16
Windward Islands v Combined Campuses & Colleges at Trelawny Multi Purpose Stadium
Trinidad & Tobago v Jamaica at Sabina Park
Sunday October 17
Guyana v Barbados at Sabina Park
Leeward Islands v Sagicor HPC at Chedwin Park
Monday October 18
Trinidad & Tobago v Windward Islands at Sabina Park
Jamaica v Combined Campuses & Colleges at Chedwin Park
Tuesday October 19
Barbados v Sagicor HPC at Trelawny Multi Purpose Stadium
Leeward Islands v Guyana at Sabina Park
Thursday October 21
Semi-final 1: Winner of Group A v Runner Up Group B at Sabina Park
Friday October 22
Semi-final 2: Winner Group B v Runner Up Group A at Trelawny Multi Purpose Stadium
Sunday October 24
FINAL: Winner of Semi-final 1 v Winner of Semi-final 2 at Sabina Park