WICB announces list of contracted players for 2010 - 2011

St John's, Antigua - The West Indies Cricket Board announces the following players have signed Central Retainer Contracts for the period October 1 2010 to September 30 2011:

1. Shivnarine Chanderpaul – A
2. Sulieman Benn – B
3. Darren Sammy – B
4. Kemar Roach – C
5. Brendan Nash – C
6. Adrian Barath – C
7. Darren Bravo – C
8. Shane Shillingford – C
9. Nikita Miller – C
10. Devon Smith – C
11. Ravi Rampaul – C
12. Nelon Pascal – C
13. David Bernard Jr – C
14. Andre Russell – C
15. Carlton Baugh Jr – C

The following players have signed Developmental Contracts for 2010 – 2011:

1. Kirk Edwards
2. Gavin Tonge
3. Andre Fletcher
4. Chadwick Walton
5. Devendra Bishoo
6. Assad Fudadin
7. Imran Khan
8. Kevin Stoute

Chris Gayle and Dwayne Bravo, who were both offered A contracts , and Kieron Pollard, who was offered a C contract, have indicated to the WICB that they were not minded to take up the offers.

The WICB has written to Gayle, Bravo and Pollard seeking details of the issues which caused them not to take up the offer in an attempt to understand same and so that the issues can be addressed for future contract offers.

“The WICB is delighted to have a full complement of players on Central Retainer and Developmental contracts,” said WICB CEO Dr. Ernest Hilaire.

“We see this as a clear demonstration by the players themselves that they are committed to working with the WICB towards the development and success of West Indies cricket,” Dr. Hilaire added.

“The WICB is encouraged by the overwhelmingly positive response from the players and we look forward to working very closely with each of them in the coming year,” Dr. Hilaire said.

Gayle, Bravo and Pollard have each indicated to the WICB that they remain committed to West Indies cricket and are available for selection to the West Indies team.

The WICB appreciates the stated commitment to West Indies cricket. The WICB has reiterated that possession of a retainer contract is not a pre-requisite for selection to the West Indies team and that selection of players will be in accordance with the WICB’s Selection Criteria .