Key players all set for WICB Regional 50 Over Tournament

Kingston, Jamaica – The eight teams participating in the WICB Regional 50 Over Tournament are putting in their final preparations before the start of the event. The first matches will be played on Thursday in Group A with home side Jamaica facing the Windward Islands at the Trelawny Multi Purpose Stadium and title-holders Trinidad and Tobago meeting Combined Campuses & Colleges at Kensington Park.

Group B will bowl off on Friday. Barbados square off against the Leeward Islands at Sabina Park; while newcomers Sagicor High Performance Centre take on Guyana at Kensington Park. First ball in all matches is 9 am (10 am Eastern Caribbean Time).

Several players have been speaking about their team’s chances ahead of the tournament. Adrian Barath, the young exciting opener from Trinidad and Tobago is all set to play his part for the two-time defending champions.

“I’m really looking forward to the tournament. It has come along at the right time. We have not played as a team for a while now, since the Caribbean T20 in July, so we will be looking to get back into the grove. This is a great opportunity [for me] to spend some time in the middle. I am eager to get back onto the cricket field and represent Trinidad and Tobago,” the 20-year-old said.

“As the defending champions we know we cannot take anything for granted. We did not play as well as we know we could in the Caribbean T20 and we lost. We are aware that the other teams in the Caribbean are good teams with some good players so we need to be at our best in order to win and make it three in a row.”

Jamaica’s reliable left-arm orthodox spinner Nikita Miller believes his team will do very well at home.
“Whenever I step onto the cricket field I’m always looking to give of my best and this occasion things will be the same ... I will be giving my all for Jamaica. I have been working hard at my game in the build-up to the tournament so I’m feeling good. As a team we are in the right frame of mind.”

The 28-year-old added: “The last time we won the trophy (WICB Regional 50 Over) was back in 2007 when we played in Barbados. We have not won it since so this will be a good chance to get our hands back on the trophy again. Whenever we play at home the expectations are always great. We know we will have home support, we know the conditions and we will be comfortable ... so once we play as a unit, I expect us to do very well.”

Sulieman Benn, the beanpole Barbados left-arm spinner, is confident his team-mates will perform at their peak in the Jamaica conditions.

“We have some experienced players who will be expected to lead the team and some young, emerging players who are eager to do well at the regional level. At the top of the batting we have Ryan Hinds, and Dale Richards, who are two very good players. We also have players such as Jason Haynes, and other batsmen who can all do the job,” the 29-year-old Benn said.

“In the bowling we have good variations. I believe we have the right kind of combination, which is suited to the conditions in Jamaica. We have a good mix of pacers, seamers and spinners.”
Looking ahead, Benn added: ”... on a personal note, the ball is coming out really well at the moment and I’m feeling good about my game. Hopefully this can continue when I get to Jamaica and beyond.”

WICB Regional 50 Over Tournament 2010 Schedule
Group A

Trinidad & Tobago
Windward Islands
Combined Campuses & Colleges
Group B
Leeward Islands
Sagicor HPC

Thursday October 14th
Combined Campuses & Colleges v Trinidad & Tobago at Kensington Park
Windward Islands v Jamaica at Trelawny Multi Purpose Stadium
Friday October 15th
Leeward Islands v Barbados at Sabina Park
Sagicor HPC v Guyana at Kensington Park
Saturday October 16th
Windward Islands v Combined Campuses & Colleges at Trelawny Multi Purpose Stadium
Trinidad & Tobago v Jamaica at Sabina Park
Sunday October 17th
Guyana v Barbados at Sabina Park
Leeward Islands v Sagicor HPC at Chedwin Park (pending assessment)
Monday October 18th
Trinidad & Tobago v Windward Islands at Sabina Park
Jamaica v Combined Campuses & Colleges at Chedwin Park (pending assessment)
Tuesday October 19th
Barbados v Sagicor HPC at Trelawny Multi Purpose Stadium
Leeward Islands v Guyana at Sabina Park
Thursday October 21st
Semi Final 1:
Winner of Group A v Runner Up Group B at Sabina Park
Friday October 22nd Semi Final 2: Winner Group B v Runner Up Group A at Trelawny Multi Purpose Stadium
Sunday October 24th
FINAL: Winner of Semi Final 1 v Winner of Semi Final 2 at Sabina Park
Barbados Squad: Ryan Hinds (Captain), Dale Richards, Kraigg Brathwaite, Kirk Edwards, Jonathan Carter, Kevin Stoute, Dwayne Smith, Carlo Morris (Wicketkeeper), Sulieman Benn, Kemar Roach, Tino Best, Marlon Graham, Jason Haynes, Javon Searles

Combined  Campuses & Colleges Squad: Romel Currency (Captain), Floyd Reifer (Player/Coach), Omar Phillips, William Perkins, Miles Bascombe, Nekoli Parris, Ryan Wiggins, Martin Nurse, Chadwick Walton (Wicketkeeper), Ryan Austin, Kavesh Kantasingh, Gilford Moore, Shervon Penco, Borris Hutchinson

Guyana Squad: Ramnaresh Sarwan (Captain), Richard Ramdeen, Christopher Barnwell Jr, Assad Fudadin, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Narsingh Deonarine, Royston Crandon, Steven Jacobs, Jonathan Foo, Leon Johnson, Anthony Bramble (Wicketkeeper), Esaun Crandon, Devendra Bishoo, Keon Joseph

Jamaica Squad: Chris Gayle (Captain), Xavier Marshall, Danza Hyatt, Marlon Samuels, Tamar Lambert, Horace Miller, Brendan Nash, Carlton Baugh Jr (Wicketkeeper), David Bernard Jr, Odean Brown, Nikita Miller, Andre Russell, Andrew Richardson, Krishmar Santokie

Leeward Islands Squad: Wilden Cornwall (Captain), Javier Liburd, Montcin Hodge, Chesney Hughes, Steve Liburd, Omari Banks, Jahmar Hamilton (Wicketkeeper), Jacques Taylor, Justin Athanaze, Anthony Martin, Lionel Baker, Gavin Tonge, Gavin Williams, Calvin Williams

Sagicor High Performance Centre Squad: Shamarh Brooks (Captain), Kieran Powell, Rajendra Chandrika, Kyle Corbin, Nkrumah Bonner, Keron Cottoy, Jason Holder, Delorn Johnson, Veerasammy Permaul, Brandon Bess, Shannon Gabriel, Devon Thomas (Wicketkeeper), Shane Dowrich (Wicketkeeper), Kevin McClean

Trinidad & Tobago Squad: Daren Ganga (Captain), Adrian Barath, Lendl Simmons, Darren Bravo, Keiron Pollard, Jason Mohammed, Dwayne Bravo, Denesh Ramdin (Wicketkeeper), Kevon Cooper, Imran Khan, Sherwin Ganga, Dave Mohammed, Samuel Badree, Ravi Rampaul

Windward Islands Squad: Darren Sammy (Captain), Johnson Charles, Garey Mathurin, Keddy Lesporis, Craig Emmanuel, Donwell Hector, Kenroy Peters, Lyndon James (Wicketkeeper), Devon Smith, Andre Fletcher, Nelon Pascal, Shane Shillingford, Mervin Matthew, Liam Sebastien

For full tournament schedule visit: