Darren Sammy appointed West Indies captain

St John's Antigua - The West Indies Cricket Board announces that Darren Sammy has been appointed West Indies captain until the end of the Digicel Series 2011.

“We are at the dawn of a new era in West Indies cricket and the Selection Committee has entrusted the challenging job of captaincy to Darren Sammy because it is believed that he has demonstrated the attributes of a leader of this diverse group of men,” said Selection Committee Chairman Clyde Butts.

The Selection Committee, the Head Coach Ottis Gibson, the CEO Dr. Ernest Hilaire and the Director of Cricket Tony Howard discussed the leadership of the West Indies senior cricket team with a number of candidates who had been shortlisted for the position of captaincy and following the discussions the Selection Committee recommended Sammy as captain to the Board of Directors. The recommendations of the Selection Committee were approved by the Board.

Brendan Nash has been appointed be Sammy’s Test Vice Captain until the end of the Digicel Series 2011.

“Chris Gayle, the former captain, led the West Indies during a challenging period and the Board thanks him for stepping up then but it is now time to past the mantle on as the West Indies rebuilds,” said WICB CEO Dr. Ernest Hilaire.

“Being appointed West Indies captain is an honour and distinction which I will treat with the highest regard and dignity,” Sammy said.

“I believe my captaincy of the Windward Islands, a young team which I have been moulding into playing consistently competitive cricket, will stand me in good stead as West Indies captain as we work on building a team for the future,” Sammy outlined.

“I have always given my all when I prepare and play for the West Indies and nothing will change now. I know this will be a difficult challenge and I will take the torch from Chris and hold it high as we forge ahead,” Sammy said.

“I have been playing for the West Indies since 2004 and over those six years I have built strong relationships with many players and I expect to have the full support of the squad,” Sammy said.

The WICB also announces the West Indies Test squad for the Tour to Sri Lanka.

Darren Sammy – Captain
Brendan Nash – Vice Captain (for the Test Series v Sri Lanka)
Christopher Gayle
Adrian Barath
Carlton Baugh Jr – Wicketkeeper
Sulieman Benn
Darren Bravo
Dwayne Bravo
Shivnarine Chanderpaul
Nelon Pascal
Kemar Roach
Andre Russell
Shane Shillingford
Devon Smith
Devon Thomas – Wicketkeeper

“This team has a combination of seasoned professionals who have represented the West Indies well at the highest level and up-and-coming players who have proven their skills and demonstrated their talent in regional and A Team cricket,” Butts said.

“The job of nurturing these young players on tour and ensuring that they are warmly welcomed falls in the hands of the senior men and we have no doubt that they will ensure a harmonious tour in Sri Lanka and onwards,” Butts said.

“Andre Russell has received his maiden call up after performing well for Jamaica and the West Indies A. The Selection Committee believes that he is a most talented all rounder who can very likely feature prominently in West Indies cricket in years to come,” Butts explained.

The Selection Committee will meet to select the West Indies Limited Overs squad for the Sri Lanka tour and an announcement will be made at a later date.