Samaraweera to lead Sri Lanka Board XI against West Indies

COLOMBO, Sri Lanka – Experienced middle-order batsman Thilan Samaraweera has been named to captain a Sri Lanka Cricket Board President’s XI against the touring West Indies on their tour here later this month.
The 34-year-old, who has played 60 Tests, will lead a strong 15-man side that also includes mystery Test spinner Ajantha Mendis and wicketkeeper Prasanna Jayawardena, who has played 33 Tests.
Nuwan Pradeep, a 24-year-old fast bowler who is on the verge of Test selection, has also been included after recovering from an abdominal and hamstring injury.
The President’s XI will face West Indies in a three-day match starting next Wednesday at the Sinhalese Sports Club.

SQUAD: Thilan Samaraweera (captain), Tharanga Paranavithana, Dimuth Karunaratne, Lahiru Thirimanne, Thilina Kandamby, Ajantha Mendis, Ashan Priyanjana, Prasanna Jayawardena, Malinga Bandara, Shaminda Eranga, Chanaka Welagedera, Thilan Thushara, Nuwan Pradeep, Sachitra Senanayake, Kushal Janith Perera.

WEST INDIES SQUAD: Darren Sammy (Captain), Brendan Nash (Vice Captain), Adrian Barath, Carlton Baugh, Sulieman Benn, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Shiv Chanderpaul, Chris Gayle, Nelon Pascal, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell, Shane Shillingford, Devon Smith, Devon Thomas

TEAM MANAGEMENT UNIT: Ottis Gibson (Head Coach), Joel Garner (Team Manager), David Williams (Assistant Coach), C.J Clark (Physiotherapist), Richard Berridge (Video & Statistical Analyst), Hector Martinez Charles (Strength & Conditioning Co-ordinator), Philip Spooner (Media Relations Officer), Virgil Browne (Massage Therapist), Courtney Browne (WICB Selector)

Tour schedule
November 10-12: Warm-up match at SSC, Colombo
November 15-19: 1st Test at Galle International Stadium, Galle
November 23-27: 2nd Test at R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
December 1-5: 3rd Test at Pallekele Cricket Stadium, Kandy
December 9: 1st ODI at Suriyawewa Stadium, Hambantota
December 11: 2nd ODI at Suriyawewa Stadium, Hambantota
December 15: 3rd ODI at R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
December 17: 4th ODI at R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
December 19: 5th ODI at R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
December 21: T20 International at R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo