Windies makes it two wins in a row at World Masters

Bridgetown, Barbados – West Indies continued their great start to the World Masters Tournament with a seven-wicket win over India on Saturday night. This came after their sensational opening match when they beat England with a ball to spare on Friday night. The T20 Tournament is organised by the Cricket Legends of Barbados featuring players over the age of 35. All matches are being played at Kensington Oval.

On Saturday, legendary fast bowler Curtly Ambrose and leg-spinner Mahendra Nagamootoo shared five wickets and then allrounder Rawl Lewis batted brilliantly as the Windies condemned India to their second defeat.

Nagamootoo collected 3-19 from his four overs to earn the Man-of-the-Match award, and Ambrose took 2-19 from his allotted overs, as the Indians were dismissed for 96 in 19.2 overs in the second match of a double-header at Kensington Oval.

Left-hander Robin Singh, who was born in Trinidad, top-scored for the Indians with 28 from 31 balls but it was not enough. Lewis, playing in his first match and used as an opener, struck four fours and a six in his 44 from 41 balls, as the home side reached their target with 31 balls to spare.

On the opening night, crowd favourite Carl Hooper scored a first-ball “duck” but opener Stuart Williams lashed an unbeaten 86 to fire West Indies to a four-wicket win over England, with a ball to spare. Chasing England’s 176-4 from their 20 overs, West Indies found themselves on 71-6 at the 10th over before Williams played a superb knock.

The right-hander hit nine fours and two sixes in a cameo that required a just 54 balls and shared a pulsating, unbroken seventh wicket stand of 106 with Mahendra Nagamootoo who finished on 39 from 30 balls with two fours and two sixes. At one stage, England looked favourites to win the contest with West Indies needing 20 runs from the last over but

Williams spoiled their party by smashing a series of boundaries before finishing the match with a cover-driven six. The tournament continues on Sunday. The final will be played on Tuesday.

Summarised scores
Match 1: India beat Sri Lanka by eight wickets (Duckworth/Lewis Method)
Sri Lanka 158-9 off 20 overs (Saman Jayantha 61 not out, Romesh Kaluwitharana 15, Hermantha Wickramaratne 15; Abey Kuruvilla 4-27, Nilesh Kulkarni 3-22) India 129-2 off 14.2 overs (Vikram Rathour 63 not out, Amay Khurasiya 49 not out)

Match 2: West Indies beat England by four wickets
England 176-4 off 20 overs (Craig White 86, Paul Nixon 35 not out, Graeme Hick 18) West Indies 177-6 off 19.5 overs (Stuart Williams 86 not out, Mahendra Nagamootoo 39 not out; Glen Chapple 2-28)

Match 3: Sri Lanka beat England by 28 runs
Sri Lanka 164-4 off 20 overs (Romesh Kaluwitharana 59, Aravinda de Silva 39; Dominic Cork 2-13) England 136-7 off 20 overs (Dominic Cork 31, Mark Alleyne 25, Neil Fairbrother 22, Craig White 20; Sanath Jayasuriya 2-26, Russel Arnold 2-42)

Match 4: West Indies beat India by seven wickets
India 96 off 19.2 overs (Robin Singh 28; Mahendra Nagamootoo 3-19, Curtly Ambrose 2-19) West Indies 97-3 off 14.5 overs (Rawl Lewis 44 not out, Stuart Williams 20)