New look Windies boldly opt to bat

Galle, Sri Lanka - New West Indies captain Darren Sammy won the toss at Galle and made a positive decision by asking his new look Windies team to bat first.

The Windies management have handed Test debuts to the highly touted Trinidadian left hander Darren Bravo, younger brother of Dwayne and Jamaican fast bowling all rounder Andre Russell.

Opening batsman Devon Smith, fast bowler Nelon Pascal and Sulieman Benn are on the bench. Benn though is on a one match ICC ban.
The Caribbean side has Adrian Barath returning from injury to the top of the order to partner Chris Gayle. Darren bravo is expected to take the critical number three position previously held by Ramnaresh Sarwan while Shiv Chanderpaul, new vice captain Brendan Nash and Dwayne Bravo make up the middle order.

Carlton Baugh has displaced Denesh Ramdin and has returned to wicketkeeping duties after a five year absence from Test cricket while Sammy, Russell and rookie off spinner Shane Shillignford ensure that the Windies batting will run deep.

West Indies: Chris Gayle, Adrian Barath, Darren Bravo, Brendan Nash, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Dwayne Bravo, Carlton Baugh, Darren Sammy, Andre Russell, Shane Shillingford and Kemar Roach

Sri Lanka: Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan,Tharanga Paranavitana, Mahela Jayawardene, Thilan Samaraweera, Prasanna Jayawardene, Angelo Mathews, Suraj Randiv, Dammika Prasad, Ajantha Mendis, Thilan Thushara

Umpires: Steve Davis (Australia), Richard Kettleborough (England)
Television umpire: Asad Rauf (Pakistan)
ICC Match Referee: Alan Hurst (Australia)

Click here for live ESPNCricinfo commentary and scorecard and join the discussion on the official Windies Cricket Facebook fan page and on Twitter