West Indies and Sri Lanka switch to ODIs

Hambantota, Sri Lanka – The five-match One-Day International Series between West Indies and Sri Lanka is due to bowl off on Thursday afternoon. The two teams are in the southern coastal town of Hambantota for the opening match, which will be the first at the new Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in the suburb of Suriyawewa. First ball in the day/night encounter is 2.30 pm (5 am Eastern Caribbean Time/4 am Jamaica Time).
The West Indies will be looking to get off to a winning start as they strive to make strides up the International Cricket Council’s One-Day International rankings. The series will also be used as preparation for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011, which will be played in Asia early next year.

The Windies have called up four new players after the Test Series. Allrounder Kieron Pollard, spinner Nikita Miller, pacer Ravi Rampaul and middle-order batsman Kirk Edwards have joined the squad. Sri Lanka have called up pacer Lasith Malinga to the squad, but ace spinner Muttiah Muralitharan is still being rested.

“We are confident as we look ahead to the ODIs. We have some new players coming in and they will have a few days to adapt to the conditions,” Sammy said. “We started a very good thing during the Test series and I am confident the new guys will fit into the formula we have established.”

Darren Sammy (Captain), Adrian Barath, Carlton Baugh, Sulieman Benn, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Shiv Chanderpaul, Kirk Edwards, Chris Gayle, Nikita Miller, Kieron Pollard, Kemar Roach, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Devon Smith
SRI LANKA: Kumar Sangakkara (Captain), Mahela Jayawardene, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Angelo Mathews, Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Kapugedara, Suraj Randiv, Ajantha Mendis, Rangana Herath, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thisara Perera, Dilhara Fernando, Chamara Silva, Jeevan Mendis.

Upcoming matches
December 9: 1st ODI at Suriyawewa Stadium, Hambantota
December 11: 2nd ODI at Suriyawewa Stadium, Hambantota
December 15: 3rd ODI at R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
December 17: 4th ODI at R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
December 19: 5th ODI at R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
December 21: T20 International at R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo