Shiv to line-up for Guyana in CT20

Georgetown, Guyana – Guyana have named a strong team to launch their defence of the title when the West Indies Cricket Board’s Caribbean T20 Tournament bowls off on January 10.

They will be bolstered by the inclusion of left-hander Shiv Chanderpaul, who missed the first tournament in July when Guyana beat Barbados in an exciting final. The side will again be led by experienced Ramnaresh Sarwan. There is one newcomer – teenaged left-arm pacer Andre Stoll. The 19-year-old Police fast bowler, who played in this year’s TCL Group-sponsored West Indies Under-19 Tournament in St Lucia, is also a useful lower order batsman.

Stoll joins Chris Barnwell and Esuan Crandon as the fast bowlers in the squad. He was picked after a groin injury sidelined medium-pacer Paul Wintz. The side also includes leg-spinner Davendra Bishoo, who was MVP at this year’s tournament.

The tournament will be played at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Stadium in Antigua and Kensington Oval in Barbados from Monday, January 10 to Sunday January 23. The defending champs have been drawn in Group A alongside Jamaica, Combined Campuses & Colleges, Windward Islands and English county side Somerset. They will open their campaign against Jamaica on January 10 at 8 pm (7 pm Jamaica Time).

SQUAD: Ramnaresh Sarwan (Captain), Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Richard Ramdeen, Travis Dowlin, Narsingh Deonarine, Steven Jacobs, Jonathon Foo, Royston Crandon, Andre Stoll, Derwin Christian, Veerasammy Permaul, Davendra Bishoo, Chris Barnwell, Esuan Crandon

News Images: