Morton to make debut for TT in CT20

Port-of-Spain, Trinidad – Runako Morton, the former Leeward Islands captain, has been named in the Trinidad and Tobago squad for next month’s West Indies Cricket Board’s Caribbean T20 Tournament.

The 32-year-old right-hander was born in Nevis but now lives in Trinidad. Two months ago made the decision to make himself available for Trinidad and Tobago. Morton will come face to face with his old team-mates when the Trinis meet the Leewards in Antigua on Thursday, January 13 at 8 pm (7 pm Jamaica Time).

The Trinis have been drawn in Group B alongside Barbados, Canada, the Leewards and English County team Hampshire. The tournament will be played at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Stadium in Antigua and Kensington Oval in Barbados from Monday, January 10 to Sunday January 23.

Convenor of Trinidad and Tobago national selectors Dudnath Ramkessoon said Morton had made a strong case for selection.

“We welcome him into the Trinidad and Tobago set-up and we are hoping that he continues his good work that he started with the Leeward Islands. In the short time he had to impress the selectors, he did very well and it was difficult not to see him in the 14-man squad.

He also performed very well in domestic cricket and we decided to give him a chance to show his worth with the senior team,” Ramkessoon said. Morton, played for the Leewards for over 10 years. He played for them in the inaugural Caribbean T20 in July, but his participation was cut short by a shoulder injury.

In his international career Morton has so played 15 Tests and 56 One-Day Internationals. The Trinidad and Tobago team will again be led by Daren Ganga, the experienced right-hander and the team also includes Darren Bravo, talented opener Adrian Barath, wicket-keeper Denesh Ramdin and pace bowler Ravi Rampaul.

“The team has the right blend. It was not easy to choose giving the fact that so many players did not get a chance to address the selectors because of the bad weather. However, we are confident that this group of cricketers will do well at the tournament,” Ramkessoon said.

SQUAD: Daren Ganga (captain), Lendl Simmons, Runako Morton, Darren Bravo, Adrian Barath, Imran Khan, Sherwin Ganga, Denesh Ramdin, Sunil Narine, Kevon Cooper, Ravi Rampaul, Samuel Badree, Jason Mohammed, Richard Kelly.

News Images: