Leewards name team for CT20

St John’s, Antigua – The Leeward Islands have named a team full of allrounders for the upcoming West Indies Cricket Board’s Caribbean T20 tournament.

The 14-man squad will be led by veteran Wilden Cornwall and he will have experienced fast bowler Lionel Baker as his Vice Captain. The selectors have however decided to omit allrounder Omari Banks from the squad. Banks, who played 10 Tests for the West Indies between 2003 and 2005, is one of the most experienced T20 players in the regional having had a three-year stint with Somerset in the English County Championship. They will also be without seasoned campaigners Steve Liburd and Shane Jeffers.

The selectors have instead decided to go recall Tonito Willett, and have also included rookies Jacques Taylor, Kelbert Walters, Rakeem Cornwall. They have also picked two wicket-keepers, Devon Thomas and Jahmar Hamilton – who are both talented middle-order batsmen.

Chesney Hughes, the powerful left-hander who had an outstanding season for Derbyshire in last year’s county campaign earns a place. He played a key role when the Leewards shared the WICB 50 Over title with Barbados last year.

The Leewards will play in Group B alongside Barbados, Trinidad and Tobago, Canada and English County side Hampshire. Their opening match will be against the Bajans on the opening day Monday, January 10 at 8 pm (7 pm Jamaica Time).

SQUAD: Wilden Cornwall (Captain), Lionel Baker (Vice Captain), Montcin Hodge, Jahmar Hamilton, Chesney Hughes, Justin Athanaze, Anthony Martin, Gavin Tonge, Jacques Taylor, Tonito Willett, Rakeem Cornwall, Kelbert Walters, Kieran Powell, Devon Thomas.

News Images: