Windies girls set for 1st ODI in Mumbai

Mumbai, India – West Indies Women will looking to make a winning start when they face India Women in the first One-Day International on Monday.

The Windies won their tour-opener against the BCCI President’s XI on Saturday and will be looking to carry that form into the international portion of the tour. The match will be played at Bandra Kurla Complex. First ball is 9.30 am (1 am Eastern Caribbean Time/12 midnight Jamaica Time).
Coach Sherwin Campbell said the opening victory by five wickets with 48 balls to spare was a major boost for his team. They had a full training session on Sunday and are ready for the first big contest.

“The first match was a very good result for us. It is always good to start a tour with a win. We played very well, everyone was acclimatised to the foreign conditions and the body-language was excellent,” Campbell said. “It was our first match on Indian soil. We played against a good team and we managed to restrict them. We were then able to chase down the total and we won with overs to spare. The batters all got a decent hit and they made wise use of the time at the crease.”
Campbell said the five-match ODI series will be a challenging one, but he knows he team is capable on getting the
better of the home side.
“We have done a lot of work since we came here and we are looking forward to taking on the India girls. We have been adapting very well. We had some lengthy training sessions as well and the pitch we will be playing the first match on look to be a very good one. It has some grass so that’s good to see.
He added: "The seamers and faster bowlers should get some help and then our spinners would come into play. The outfield is fast and the batters should get good value for their shots. It should be a good match to start the tour.”
WEST INDIES: Merissa Aguilleira (captain/wicket-keeper), Anisa Mohammed (vice captain), Shemaine
Campbelle, Britney Cooper, Shanel Daley, Deandra Dottin, Pearl Etienne, Stacy-Ann King, Subrina Munroe,
Juliana Nero, June Ogle-Thomas (wicket-keeper), Shakera Selman, Tremayne Smartt, Stafanie Taylor
INDIA: Jhulan Goswami (captain), Mithali Raj, Poonam Raut, Harmanpreet Kaur, Rumeli Dhar, Amita Sharma,
Anagha Deshpande, Soniya Dabir, Diana David, Gouhar Sultana, Reema Malhotra, Priyanka Roy, Samantha
Lobatto, Neha Tanvar, Snehal Pradhan.