PREVIEW: WI face SL in daynighter

Colombo: West Indies will be hoping all members of the squad get into the World Cup groove when they face Sri Lanka in the second official ICC Cricket World Cup match at R Premadasa Stadium on Tuesday.

First ball in the day/night match is 2.30 pm (5 am Eastern Caribbean Time/4 am Jamaica Time).

Both teams will be looking to use the match as the last opportunity to get their combinations right ahead of the big event. In the opening warm-up matches Sri Lanka beat the Netherlands by 156 runs and the Windies got over Kenya by 61 runs, thanks to superb batting by Ramnaresh Sarwan and excellent bowling by Andre Russell and Kemar Roach.

Speaking ahead of Tuesday’s match, Windies Head Coach Ottis Gibson said the team was calm and looking to make the most out of the contest. “We are happy with the way things are going and we will again look to make the most out of the match against Sri Lanka. We played well again Kenya but we know there are areas we need to finetune as we get ready for the World Cup.”

Gibson added: “It is about having the belief and going out and performing. We are gradually getting to that level. Momentum seems to be the buzz word is world sports at the moment so we are looking to get into the groove and create that winning momentum. We are moving in the right direction.

“We might change the make-up of the team on Tuesday but we won’t change the way we play. The ICC has allowed us to use all 15 players but we will be using 11. We are preparing for the biggest event in world cricket and want to get 11 players on the field and make it as competitive as we can.”

The Cricket World Cup will start with the opening ceremony in Dhaka on Thursday. The first match will be on Saturday with Bangladesh facing India in Dhaka. West Indies have been drawn in Group B alongside India, South Africa, England, Bangladesh, Ireland and the Netherlands.

The Windies will open their World Cup campaign against South Africa (February 24, Delhi) then followed by The Netherlands (February 28, Delhi), Bangladesh (March 4, Dhaka), Ireland (March 11, Mohali), England (March 17, Chennai), and India (March 20, Chennai).

West Indies:
Darren Sammy (captain), Dwayne Bravo (vice captain), Adrian Barath, Carlton Baugh (wicket-keeper), Sulieman Benn, Darren Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Chris Gayle, Nikita Miller, Kieron Pollard, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Devon Smith; Head Coach: Ottis Gibson

Sri Lanka: Kumar Sangakkara (captain/wicket-keeper), Mahela Jayawardene (vice captain), T.M. Dilshan, Dilhara Fernando, Rangana Herath, Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews, Ajantha Mendis, Muttiah Muralitharan, Thisara Perera, Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Silva, Upul Tharanga; Head Coach: Trevor Bayliss

Umpires: Ian Gould, Nigel Llong; Third umpire: Daryl Harper; ICC Match referee: Chris Broad

News Images: