Bishoo makes debut as WI field first

Chennai, India – Leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo made his One-Day International debut for West Indies on Thursday as England won the toss and decided to bat first in the all-important Group B ICC Cricket World Cup match.

The 25-year-old replaced left-arm spinner Nikita Miller, one of two changes from the team which beat Ireland in Mohali last week. The other change saw Chris Gayle returning from injury to replace veteran Shiv Chanderpaul.

England made three changes from the side which lost to Bangladesh in Chittagong, with allrounder Luke Wright, off-spinner James Tredwell and pacer Chris Tremlett making the starting line-up.

England need to win and hope that South Africa beat Bangladesh in Dhaka Saturday to reach the quarter-finals. A win would see the West Indies move into the last eight.

West Indies:
Darren Sammy (captain), Chris Gayle, Devon Smith, Darren Bravo, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Kieron Pollard, Devon Thomas, Andre Russell, Sulieman Benn, Devendra Bishoo, Kemar Roach.
England: Andrew Strauss (captain), Matt Prior, Jonathan Trott, Ian Bell, Eoin Morgan, Ravi Bopara, Luke Wright, Tim Bresnan, Graeme Swann, James Tredwell, Chris Tremlett.
Officials: Bruce Oxenford, Steve Davis (umpires), Shahvir Tarapore (Television umpire), Simon Taufel (fourth official), Roshan Mahanama (match referee)