Windies aim to get better of India

CHENNAI, India –  Already with one foot in the quarter-finals of the World Cup, West Indies will look to confirm their place there when they meet pre-tournament favourites India here Sunday.

Bangladesh’s heavy 206-run defeat to South Africa virtually sealed a spot in the next round for the Caribbean side and once they avoid a blow-out at the MA Chidambaram Stadium, they will be the final side from Group B to advance and do battle with the top eight teams starting next week.

West Indies are coming off a close defeat at the hands of England last Thursday which would have secured them a quarter-final berth and now face a strong India team which will be favoured to come out on top.

West Indies captain Darren Sammy is confident West Indies could pull off a win over their highly fancied opponents.
“I don’t know what India’s true potential is but we respect them,” Sammy told reporters here Saturday. “They have some great players in there but we’re going to come out there with our game plan and hopefully execute it properly and put pressure on the Indian team.”

West Indies are yet to beat a top-ranked side in the tournament. They lost to South Africa in their opening game and then after a string of victories over the Netherlands, Bangladesh and Ireland. Sammy said the team is fuly aware of this and will be going all out to score a victory.

Despite that defeat against England, Sammy says the Windies would be motivated when they met India in the day/night affair starting at 2.30 pm (5 am Eastern Caribbean time/4 am Jamaica Time.).

“All the players are in good spirits and I know all the players will come hard because they know how important it is for us. I think everybody will be going out there to give 100 per cent,” he said.

India may have to do without their attacking opener Virender Sehwag who is nursing a troublesome knee and are also mulling over handing middle order batsman Suresh Raina and off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin their first match of the tournament.

West Indies: Darren Sammy (captain), Chris Gayle, Darren Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Devon Smith, Sulieman Benn, Nikita Miller, Devon Thomas, Andre Rusell, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Shiv Chanderpaul, Kirk Edwards; Head Coach: Ottis Gibson
India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, Yusuf Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, S Sreesanth, Ashish Nehra, Munaf Patel, Piyush Chawla, R Ashwin; Head Coach: Gary Kirsten