Simmons hits ton to steady T&T

Georgetown, Guyana – Opener Lendl Simmons stroked his ninth first-class century as Trinidad and Tobago took command of their final round match in the WICB First Class Championship against Guyana on Friday.

The 26-year-old right-hander hit a fluent 134 not out as he propelled the visitors to 291-4 at the close of the opening day at the Guyana National Stadium at Providence.

Winning the toss and choosing to bat, T&T recovered from the early loss of Tishan Maraj for four at 7-1, to take control of the innings, thanks to Simmons’ mature knock. He struck 10 fours and a six, facing 250 balls in an innings that lasted six hours. It was his second successive century against Guyana following his ton in Antigua last year.

Simmons got great support from Jason Mohammed who struck 67, as the two shared a stand of 112 for the third wicket. Mohammed faced 116 balls in 133 minutes and counted six fours and a six. Following Maraj’s dismissal, Simmons added a vital 72 for the second wicket with captain Daren Ganga whose 24 took him past the 500-run mark for the season to 515.

When he was removed to a catch at point off left-arm spinner Veerasammy Permaul, Simmons and Mohammed kept the Guyanese attack at bay with an attractive partnership.

Mohammed eventually perished 10 minutes before tea to a low catch at point off pacer Rensford Beaton and Sherwin Ganga (18) fell soon afterward, lbw to off-spinner Steven Jacobs at 224-4. That was the last success Guyana would taste as Simmons and Denesh Ramdin, unbeaten on 32 at the close, put on an unbroken 67 for the fifth wicket. Ramdin, who hit a century in the last match, has so far struck three fours off 71 balls in 92 minutes.

Trinidad & Tobago 1st innings
T Maraj c wk Christian b Bess 4
L Simmons not out 134
*D Ganga c Chandrika b Permaul 24
J Mohammed c (sub) Barrington b Beaton 67
S Ganga lbw b Jacobs 18
+D Ramdin not out 32
Extras (b5, lb2, w2, nb3) 12
TOTAL (4 wkts, 91 overs) 291
Fall of wickets: 1-7, 2-79, 3-191, 4-224.
To bat: Y Cariah, R Emrit, S Gabriel, Imran Khan, A Jaggernauth.
Bowling: Bess 6-1-14-1, Beaton 16-2-44-1, Fudadin 6-0-27-0, Permaul 24-3-72-1, Khan 15-0-49-0, Deonarine 4-0-16-0, Jacobs 18-4-58-1, Johnson 2-0-4-0.
Guyana: *A Fudadin, R Beaton, B Bess, R Chandrika, +D Christian, N Deonarine, S Jacobs, L Johnson, A Khan, V Permaul, V Singh.
Toss: Trinidad & Tobago.
Umpires: Clancy Mack, Clyde Duncan.

News Images: