Pakistan squad for limited-overs matches

Karachi, Pakistan – Pakistan have left out senior players Kamran Akmal and Abdul Razzaq for the Digicel T20 International and five-match Digicel One-Day Series in the West Indies, which starts later this month in St Lucia.

The team was announced on Wednesday just one week after the World Cup semi-final loss to India in Mohali. Captai Shahid Afridi and chief selector Mohsin Khan had indicated that they were looking at rebuilding a fresh side for limited overs cricket.

The 16-member squad also does not include fast bowler Umar Gul, who himself withdraw from the tour. Veteran batsman and former captain Younis Khan has also been rested.

The selectors have included pacer Aizaz Cheema, an experienced campaigner with 62 first-class matches under his belt, who joins Junaid Khan as the two uncapped players in the touring squad.

Moshin said that the squad for the two Test matches in Guyana and St Kitts would be announced later. He said wicketkeeper Kamran had been dropped because of poor form. “Basically we want to try out some new players on this tour,” said Moshin.

Uncapped Mohammad Salman will replace Kamran, who struggled at the World Cup, while the selectors have also included young batsman Usman Salahuddin and allrounder Hammad Azam.

Squad: Shahid Afridi (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Taufiq Umar, Usman Salahuddin, Misbah-ul-Haq, Asad Shafiq, Umar Akmal, Abdur Rehman, Saeed Ajmal, Tanvir Ahmed, Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan, Hammad Azam, Aizaz Cheema, Mohammad Salman.

Digicel Series Schedule
April 18: Pakistan v Vice Chancellor’s XI (50 over) – Beausejour Cricket Ground
April 21: Digicel Twenty20 – Beausejour Cricket Ground
Digicel ODI Series
April 23: First Digicel ODI – Beausejour Cricket Ground
April 25: Second Digicel ODI – Beausejour Cricket Ground
April 28: Third Digicel ODI – Kensington Oval
May 2: Fourth Digicel ODI – Kensington Oval
May 5: Fifth Digicel ODI – Guyana National Stadium
May 8-9: Two-day practice match – Bourda Cricket Ground
Digicel Tests
May 12-16: First Digicel Test – Guyana National Stadium
May 20-24: Second Digicel Test – Warner Park