Jamaica in full control after first day

Cave Hill, Barbados, CMC – Jamaica were closing in on valuable first innings points following a shocking batting collapse by Combined Campuses & Colleges on the opening day of the WICB First-Class Championship final on Friday.

Chasing a paltry 112, the visitors ended the day at 3Ws Oval on 106-3, just seven runs adrift of first innings advantage that puts them in sight of their fourth straight four-day title.

Things could have been worse for CCC when Danza Hyatt (32) and Simon Jackson (28) put on 73 for the opening stand but spin twin Kavesh Kantasingh and Ryan Austin struck crucial blows as Jamaica lost three wickets for 33 runs late in the day.
Left-arm spinner Kantasingh snatched 2-29 and Austin claimed 1-35, to slow the progress of Jamaica’s batsmen.

Among the victims was the tournament leading run-scorer Marlon Samuels who survived two chances off Austin before finally being prised out for 23.

Winning the toss and batting after rain delayed the start by 45 minutes, CCC were rocked by the opening pace duo of Andre Russell (3-11) and Jason Dawes (2-26). They were backed up leg-spinner Odean Brown who chipped in with 3-34 as CCC failed to stage a serious recovery.

Only Raymon Reifer who top-scored with 42 and all-rounder Nkrumah Bonner (37) showed any resistance, in a stand of 55 for the sixth wicket after CCC were reeling at 20-5. The damage started as early as the day’s fourth over when opener Romel Currency was yorked by Dawes for one at 5-1 and it continued when Shacaya Thomas was trapped lbw without scoring by a full length delivery from Dawes at 8-2.

Four balls later, captain Omar Phillips skied a drive off Russell to extra-cover to perish for five at 10-3 before CCC’s leading batsman Kyle Corbin was bowled by Russell for two with just four runs added. Russell then trapped veteran left-hander Floyd Reifer lbw for four to leave CCC in deep trouble with five wickets down for 20 runs.

Raymon Reifer and Bonner then staged somewhat of a recovery, halting the steady clatter of wickets. Reifer struck eight fours in an innings that required 95 balls and 103 minutes while Bonner counted three fours off 104 balls in 137 minutes at the crease. When Reifer fell to Brown at 75-6, the last four wickets fell for 37 runs as CCC were dismissed on the stroke of tea.

Jamaica then got a rousing start from the left-handed Jackson and Hyatt, as they chased down CCC’s meagre total. Jackson eventually fell to Austin, lbw pushing forward at 73-1 as the bowler switched from over to around the wicket at the left-hander.

Hyatt followed him in the next over, edging one that bounced and turned from Kantasingh. Samuels was dropped at two by Floyd Reifer at slip and then at 14 by Kantasingh in the deep, before also edging left-arm spinner behind at 106.

Play will start at 9.30 am (8.30 am Jamaica Time) on Saturday and a minimum of 98 overs will be played. The winners of the match will take home the Headley/Weekes trophy in honour of West Indies legends George Headley and Sir Everton Weekes.

CCC 1st innings
Romel Currency b Dawes 1   
Omar Phillips c Miller b Russell 5
Shacaya Thomas lbw b Dawes 0
Kyle Corbin b Russell 2
Raymon Reifer c Miller b Brown 42
Floyd Reifer lbw b Russell 4
Nhrummah Bonner run out (Russell) 37
Carlos Brathwaite b Brown 2
Kevin McClean b Brown 3
Ryan Austin not out 3
Kavesh Kantasingh b Miller 3
Extras (b7, lb1, w1, nb1) 10
TOTAL (all out, 50.1 overs) 112   
Fall of wickets: 1-5, 2-8, 3-10), 4-14, 5-20, 6-75, 7-91, 8-97, 9-109, 10-112.
Bowling: Russell 7-1-11-3, Dawes 9-4-26-2, Miller 18.1-10-21-1, Hinds 4-1-12-0, Brown 12-1-34-3.
Jamaica 1st innings
Samuel Jackson lbw b Austin 28
Danza Hyatt c wk Corbin b Kantasingh 32
Marlon Samuels c wk Corbin b Kantasingh 23
Tamar Lambert not out 4
Jason Dawes not out 0
Extras (b4, lb5, nb10) 19
TOTAL (3 wickets, 33 overs) 106
Fall of wickets: 1-73, 2-83, 3-106.
To bat: Brendan Nash, Wavell Hinds, Chadwick Walton, Andre Russell, Nikita Miller, Odean Brown.
Bowling: McClean 4-1-11-0, Kantasingh 14-6-29-2, Brathwaite 5-1-22-0, Austin 10-1-35-1.
Toss: CCC.
Umpires: Nigel Duguid, Goaland Greaves.
Third official: Gregory Brathwaite
Match referee: Mervyn Jones

News Images: