Windies look to bounce back on Monday

Gros Islet, St Lucia – West Indies will come face-to-face with Pakistan again in the 2nd Digicel One-Day International on Monday at the Beausejour Cricket Ground.

The Windies trail 0-1, following an eight-wicket defeat in the first ODI on Saturday at the same ground, where steady spin bowling tied them down to a total of 221-6 from their 50 overs.

The home side will have to develop a batting plan to cope with the guile of Pakistan’s spinning trio of Saeed Ajmal, Shahid Afridi, and Mohammad Hafeez. They will also need greater control and penetration from their bowlers on a typical, benign surface to achieve their task.

West Indies captain Darren Sammy does not believe the job is beyond his side, and has urged his players to give a greater effort the second time around.

“We dug ourselves in a hole when we were batting, and the spinners were bowling, so we really have to come better in the next game. I will back our guys to put in the hard work in the nets, and come back and come from behind, and try to level the series,” the 27-year-old said.

Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi spoke highly of his bowlers and commended them for restricting the West Indies’ scoring. He said: “The bowlers did a great job, especially the spinners. The pitch had some moisture in it, and I knew our bowlers would use it well. I think our spinners have been doing a great job for us in the last few months, and again set things up for us.”

Leg-spinner Anthony Martin, the rookie leg-spinner could come under consideration to back-up fellow leggie Davendra Bishoo, who was the only wicket-taker in the first match.

West Indies:
Darren Sammy (captain), Dwayne Bravo (vice captain), Carlton Baugh, Devendra Bishoo, Darren Bravo, Kirk Edwards, Anthony Martin, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Devon Smith
Pakistan: Shahid Afridi (captain), Misbah-ul-Haq (vice captain), Abdur Rehman, Ahmed Shahzad, Asad Shafiq, Hammad Azman, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Salman, Sadaf Hussain, Saeed Ajmal, Tanveer Ahmed, Taufeeq Umar, Umar Akmal, Usman Salahuddin, Wahab Riaz
Umpires: Asoka De Silva, Norman Malcolm
ICC Match referee: Jeff Crowe
Television umpire: Peter Nero, Reserve umpire: Gregory Brathwaite