PREVIEW: Windies looking to draw level

PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad, CMC – West Indies will be hoping for a quick fix to their batting problems when they face India in the second Digicel Pearls One-Day International of the five-match series at Queen's Park Oval on Wednesday.


First ball is 9 am (8 am Jamaica Time).

The Windies had a full training session on Tuesday morning and all players looked fit and ready for the big occasion. Skipper Darren Sammy acknowledged that his players need an improved batting performance if they are to challenge the visitors.


“When you are out of nick, and you play on pitches that favour the opposition, it is difficult to get yourself really going,” he said. “We will have to put up a better display, and keep believing in ourselves, and hopefully, the tide will turn for us.” 

West Indies lost the first game on Monday after struggling to post an inadequate 214-9 off their 50 overs after winning the toss and deciding to take first knock.


“To be aggressive you still need the confidence. Maybe we can show a bit more intent against the spinners. When our spinners pinned down India, they showed intent towards us,” the all-rounder pointed out.


The Indians are full of confidence and skipper Suresh Raina said his side will be looking to take a 2-0 lead.


“I think we can do even better than we did in the first match. We have a very young side, but I think a couple of the guys need to show more intensity, and that is what I will ask them to do,” the left-hander said.


“We need to field really well because the bowlers have done very well for us, and we cannot let them down. It’s looking good at the moment, and I hope we do well in the next game.”



West Indies: Darren Sammy (captain), Dwayne Bravo (vice captain), Carlton Baugh, Devendra Bishoo, Darren Bravo, Kirk Edwards, Anthony Martin, Kieron Pollard, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Lendl Simmons

India: Suresh Raina (captain), Harbhajan Singh (vice captain), Ravichandran Ashwin, Subramaniam Badrinath, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Praveen Kumar, Vinay Kumar, Amit Mishra, Munaf Patel, Parthiv Patel, Yusuf Pathan, Wriddhiman Saha, Ishant Sharma, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary