Champs Windwards to face Bajans as Under-19s bowl off in Guyana

Georgetown, Guyana, CMC – Reigning champions Windward Islands face Barbados at the Demerara Cricket Club in the opening round of the three-day competition in the West Indies Cricket Board’s Under-19 Championship, which begins on Monday.
First ball is 10 am (9 am Jamaica Time).
Windwards won the three-day competition last year on home soil in St. Lucia, and they have returned to a country, where they have also had a tournament success 11 years ago. One of the players to watch is their captain Kavem Hodge. He played for the senior side in this year's WICB first first-class championship with some measure of success.
Barbados, who won the last of their nine titles three years ago on home soil, should pose a typically stiff challenge, with all eyes centred on their captain Kraigg Brathwaite, who appeared in one Test earlier this year for the senior West Indies side against Pakistan in St. Kitts.
In another match, hosts Guyana will begin their campaign for their first title in four years against Leeward Islands at the Guyana National Stadium.
The Guyanese have been the most successful side with 13 titles, since the organised competition at the regional level for Under-19s was introduced almost four decades ago. Guyana won the title on home soil six times, and Ronsford Beaton, good enough to make the senior national side, will be aiming to lead them to another title.
He, leg-spinner Amir Khan, and Kwame Crosse, all members of recent West Indies Under-19 squads, will be the key players for the home team. Guyana has also been a happy hunting ground for Leewards, having won the last of their three titles in this country a decade ago.
The other match brings together Trinidad & Tobago and Jamaica at Everest. Trinidad and Tobago have not tasted Championship glory since winning the double six years ago in St. Vincent, and have accumulated seven titles.
The Jamaicans, with the impressive John Campbell in their line-up, will be hunting their ninth title and first overseas since 1994, having been dethroned of the titles won at home two years ago.
Each team will play five matches in a round-robin format, and the team with the most points will be declared the three-day winners before the 50-over competition starts on August 9.
Kraigg Brathwaite (captain), Anthony Alleyne, Neil Browne, Jonathan Drakes, Justin Greaves, Chaim Holder, Shai Hope, Jerome Jones, Kyle Mayers, Shane Parris, Ravindra Persaud, Mario Rampersaud, Amir Thomas, Chad Williams
Guyana: Ronsford Beaton (captain), Kwame Crosse, Kevon Boodie, Kandasammy Surujnarine, Dominique Rikhi, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Linden Austin, Amir Khan, Anthony Adams, Ricardo Adams, Clinton Pestano, Lloydel Lewis, Gudakesh Motie, Joemal LaFleur
Jamaica: Donovan Nelson (captain), John Campbell, Ramon Senior, James McDonald, Chrishna Graham, Bryan Gayle, Tajay Edwards, Oshane Walters, Marquino Mindley, Rovmon Powell, Teswayne Creary, Aldaine Thomas, Fabian Allen, Ragni Francis
Leeward Islands: Rahkeem Cornwall (captain), Nino Henry, Elijah Peters, Wasim Mintos, Shaquille Martina, Chavil Archibald, Dymon Parris, Duan Webbe, Akeem Saunders, Larry Audain, Tristan Hanley, Daniel Doram, Raymel Adams, Cleon Reece
Trinidad and Tobago: Steven Katwaroo (captain), Savion Lara, Kieron Joseph, Derone Davis, Duane Cockburn, Isian Rajah, Christian Herrera, Philton Williams, Rajiv Maraj, Jovan Ali, Idrees Mohammed, Stephen Sooklal, Akeal Hosein, Emmanuel Left
Windward Islands:  Kavem Hodge (captain), Sunil Ambris, Emmanuel Peter, Ray Jordan, Shaquille Browne, Terron Simon, Dwight Thomas, Bronte Bess, Jamaal James, Awen Edward, Larry Edward, Preston McSween, Keon George, Hollis Blair 
News Images: