Yadram to lead Demerara in GCB/Igloo U-15 Inter-county

Guyana Chronicle article.

Georgetown, Guyana - National Under-15 opening batsman and skipper Bhaskar Yadram will lead Demerara for the upcoming Guyana Cricket Board/Igloo Ice Cream Under-15 Inter-county two-day competition which will bowl off on Sunday, March 30 at Everest Cricket Club and Demerara Cricket Club grounds respectively. 

Prior to the naming of the Demerara squad by their selectors, the young Demerara team were involved in a two-day practice match last weekend at the DCC ground, to further prepare them for the challenge of defending their Inter-county championships.

From a group of 26 players, the match saw Yadram XI play Stephen Wilson XI and, batting first, Yadram’s XI made 185 all out in 40.3 overs, with Yadram leading the way from the front, hitting 10 fours in his 80.

He got support from Sagar Hetheramani (33) and Ashmead Nedd (23) against the bowling of Wilson, Ganesh Jitlall and Junior Phillips who took two wickets each for 20, 23 and 34 runs respectively.

In their turn at the wicket, Wilson’s XI did not shine with the bat as they did with the ball, as they were bundled out for 102 in 44.2 overs, giving Yadram’s XI a lead of 83 runs.

Christopher Campbell and Mark Ramsammy top-scored with 22 runs each while extras contributed 14, with Mark Baptiste (3-12), Hetheramani (2-11) and Nedd (2-23) doing the damage with the ball for Yadram’s XI who piled on 183 runs for eight wickets in their second innings, giving Wilson’s XI a target of 266 for victory.

Kurt Lovell led the way with 44 and got support from Yadram 35, Nedd (24), Joshua Persaud 24 and Hetheramani (22), with Kenchandra Hardyal being the best bowler for the Wilson-led XI claiming 2 for 18.

Wilson’s XI were restricted to 122 for 7, 144 runs short of their target when the umpires called off the match at 16:15hrs, despite 37 from Alphius Bookie, 26 from Mark Ramsammy and 20 from Robin Williams as Nedd grabbed 3 for 23 and Pradesh Balkissoon 2 for 15.

From the match, the Demerara team was selected and reads: Bhaskar Yadram (captain), Paul Thomas, Alphius Bookie, Joshua Persaud, Kurt Lovell, Ganesh Jitlall, Ramdeo Basdeo, Ashmead Nedd, Sagar Hetheramani, Bhojnarine Singh, Colin Barlow, Mark Baptise, Pradesh Balkissoon and Anthony Antonio. The coach is Garvin Nedd and the manager is Robert ‘Pacer’ Adonis.

First Published In The Guyana Chronicle.

Wed, 03/26/2014 - 18:01