Women’s Super50 starts this Thursday

WICB Media Release.

ST. JOHN’S Antigua – The West Indies Cricket Board announced on Sunday that this year’s Regional Women’s Super50 Tournament opens this coming Thursday, August 7 in Dominica.

Eight teams – including last year’s double crown champions Jamaica – will take part in the Tournament which will be contested in two groups in the preliminary phase before advancing to the playoff stages.

Matches will be contested at Windsor Park, the international venue for the game in the island, as well as the historic Botanical Gardens next door, Benjamin Park in the north and Grandbay Playing Field in the south.

Under the new format, each team will have to play for their final position in the tournament, following a round of playoffs.

Finals Day is set for Wednesday, August 13.

Schedule of matches

GROUP A: Barbados, Dominica, Grenada, Trinidad & Tobago

GROUP B: Guyana, Jamaica, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines

Thursday, August 7 – ROUND 1

Grenada vs T&T – Grandbay Playing Field

Barbados vs Dominica – Windsor Park

Guyana vs Jamaica – Benjamin Park

SVG vs St. Lucia – Botanical Gardens

Saturday, August 9 – ROUND 2

Dominica vs Grenada – Botanical Gardens

T&T vs Barbados – Grandbay Playing Field

Guyana vs SVG – Windsor Park

Jamaica vs St. Lucia – Benjamin Park

Sunday, August 10 – ROUND 3

Grenada vs Barbados – Grandbay Playing Field

T&T vs Dominica – Windsor Park

Guyana vs St. Lucia – Benjamin Park

SVG vs Jamaica – Botanical Gardens

Tuesday, August 12


Winner Group A vs Runner-up Group B – Windsor Park

Winner Group B vs Runner-up Group A – Botanical Gardens


3rd Group A vs 4th Group B – Grandbay Playing Field

3rd Group B vs 4th Group A – Benjamin Park

Wednesday, August 13


Grand Final (for 1st and 2nd place)

Winner Semi-final 1 vs Winner Semi-final 2 – Windsor Park

Major Consolation Final (for 3rd and 4th place)

Loser Semi-final 1 vs Loser Semi-final 2 – Botanical Gardens

Minor Consolation Final (for 5th and 6th place)

Winner Playoff 1 vs Winner Playoff 2 – Benjamin Park

Minor Final (for 7th and 8th place)

Loser Playoff 1 vs Loser Playoff 2 – Grandbay Playing Field

WICB Media Release.

Sun, 08/03/2014 - 11:44