Winners, Cricket Lovers cop Bamboo crowns

Trinidad & Tobago Newsday article.

Valsayn, Trinidad - Winners and Cricket Lovers copped the men’s and women’s crowns as the Bamboo Cricket League ended on July 6 at the Bamboo Recreation Ground, Valsayn.

Winners strolled by ASII by 13 runs for the men’s title and Cricket Lovers took the women’s trophy following a seven-wicket triumph over Barataria Ball Players, earlier in the day. 

In the men’s final, Winners registered a score of 72 runs for six wickets off their mandatory 15 overs with Avian Mejias hitting 25, Roger Khan 11 and Sheldon Balroop 10. Kiran Bruce claimed three wickets for 11 runs for ASII. 

Despite Isaac Kennedy’s 10, ASII were only able to reach 59/8 with Balroop taking 2/7. 

In the women’s decider, Barataria posted 69/4 off their allotted 12 overs with 34 from Jovanka Simon and an unbeaten 18 from Gail David. Selene O’Neil claimed 2/12 for Cricket Lovers. In response, O’Neil contributed 17 while Natalie Ninah was unbeaten on 23 and Jennelle Charles 14 not out to see Cricket Lovers to 70/3 in 10.1 overs. 

Other Results - 

July 4 - 

Men’s Division Third-Place Playoff - BASE BOYS 30 (10.3 overs) - Hanuman Moonsammy 3/1, Narine Samaroo 2/2 vs ARANGUEZ SC 31/2 (6.1 overs) - Narine Samaroo 14, Junior Edwards 2/13. Aranguez SC won by eight wickets. 

Women’s Division Third-Place Playoff - TAMANA UNITED 70/6 (12 overs) - Stacy Ann King 29, Stacey Bolah 15, Leeann Kirby 14; Falina Jack 2/3 vs BAMBOO ALL STARS 46/9 (12 overs) - Tricia Simon 10, Krystal Cabralis 2/6, Monica Abraham 2/9, Stacy Ann King 2/10. Tamana United won by 24 runs.

First Published In The Trinidad & Tobago Newsday.

Fri, 08/30/2013 - 06:50