Windwards pick new boy Carmichael for CT20

KINGSTOWN, St. Vincent, CMC -- Tade Carmichael is the only newcomer in the Windward Islands squad for next month’s West Indies Cricket Board’s Caribbean T20 Tournament.

Carmichael was one of the outstanding players in the Windwards Islands Twenty20 competition and also played in the Under-19s for the sub-regional side.

Fast bowler Delorn Johnson is the only other uncapped T20 player in the squad, but he is no stranger to the senior regional scene, after playing the first-class championship for the Windwards and the WICB Regional Super50 tournament for the West Indies Under-19s last year and the West Indies High Performance Centre this season.

West Indies captain Darren Sammy will lead the side which has a number of regular faces, including Johnson Charles and Miles Bascombe, the opening pair that West Indies tried in a two-match series against England last September in London.

Also in the line-up is left-arm spinner Garey Mathurin who starred with a three-wicket haul in his international T20 debut againstEngland at the Oval in London in September.

The tournament will also mark the official return to regional tournaments for Shane Shillingford. The off-spinner was cleared earlier this year to resume bowling after
questions about his action.

He underwent scientific analysis of his action and worked with West Indies head coach Ottis Gibson and others at the Sagicor High Performance Centre to remodel his action.

Shillingford gained selection to the West Indies squad for their recent trips to Bangladesh and India but did not play in a Test match.

Windwards Islands have been drawn in Group-A with reigning champions Trinidad & Tobago, Guyana, Leeward Islands and Canada.

Squad: Darren Sammy (captain), Miles Bascombe, Tade Carmichael, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Lindon James, Delorn Johnson, Keddy Lesporis, Garey Mathurin, Nelon Pascal, Kenroy Peters, Liam Sebastien, Shane Shillingford, Devon Smith

Sat, 12/10/2011 - 17:29