Windies name same 13 for 3rd ODI

KINGSTON, Jamaica, CMC – West Indies have named an unchanged side for the third Digicel One-Day International against New Zealand starting Wednesday at Warner Park in St Kitts.

This comes after the Windies took a crucial 2-0 lead in the five-match series with a handy 55-run win over the Black Caps at Sabina Park here on Saturday. Last Thursday, they won the opener by nine wickets at the same venue.

There had been speculation over Lendl Simmons’ spot, with the opener gathering just 54 runs in his last six innings, but selectors have decided to stick with the winning combination.

The 13-man squad left here Sunday afternoon for Basseterre which will host the next three ODIs. Selectors will name the squad for the fourth ODI following Wednesday’s game.

Darren Sammy (Captain)
Dwayne Bravo (Vice Captain)
Tino Best
Johnson Charles
Chris Gayle
Sunil Narine
Kieron Pollard
Denesh Ramdin (Wicket-keeper)
Ravi Rampaul
Andre Russell
Marlon Samuels
Lendl Simmons
Dwayne Smith

DIGICEL 2012 SERIES - New Zealand to West Indies
Digicel One-Day International Series (all times local)
July 5: 1st Digicel ODI – West Indies won by 9 wickets at Sabina Park, Jamaica
July 7: 2nd Digicel ODI – West Indies won by 55 runs at Sabina Park
July 11: 3rd Digicel ODI – Warner Park, St. Kitts – 9:30 a.m.
July 14: 4th Digicel ODI – Warner Park – 9:30 a.m.
July 16: 5th Digicel ODI – Warner Park – 9:30 a.m.

Sun, 07/08/2012 - 14:04