Windies name ODI squad for England

St John’s, Antigua – The West Indies Cricket Board today announced the following 15 players to the West Indies One Day International squad for the ongoing tour of the United Kingdom:

West Indies One Day International Squad – UK Tour 2012
Darren Sammy – Captain
Dwayne Bravo – Vice Captain
Tino Best
Darren Bravo 
Johnson Charles
Fidel Edwards
Chris Gayle
Sunil Narine
Kieron Pollard
Denesh Ramdin – Wicketkeeper
Ravi Rampaul
Andre Russell
Marlon Samuels
Lendl Simmons
Dwayne Smith

Eight members of the current Test squad in the UK have been included in the ODI squad.
Chairman of the Selection Panel, Clyde Butts commented: “We are now beginning to move into the next phase of the development of the team as we continue to build our ODI side as we continue to plan for the 2015 World Cup. A number of players who we have been exposed to international cricket and who, by their recent performances, have shown that they can play roles in the team have been retained.”

“There is, what we believe, is a balanced combination of young rising players like Sunil Narine in the bowling department and Johnson Charles in the top order of the batting in addition to the well known seasoned internationals,” Butts added.

Butts said he also welcomed the return of Gayle to the ODI squad. “Chris is a player of proven quality and we are looking forward to him adding this dimension to the side and his contributions as a senior member of the squad,” said the Chairman of the Selection Panel.

ODI Series Schedule
June 13: West Indies v Middlesex – Lord’s, London
June 16: 1st One Day International – The Ageas Bowl, Southampton
June 19: 2nd One Day International (d/n) – Kia Oval, London
June 22: 3rd One Day International – Headingley Carnegie, Leeds
Twenty20 International
June 24: Twenty20 International – Trent Bridge, Nottingham

Mon, 06/04/2012 - 15:30