Windies Mens Team

Darren Bravo says he grew as a bastman during today's debut knock

Galle, Sri Lanka – Test match debutant Darren Bravo was clear in his mind what he wanted to achieve when he took to the field against Sri Lanka on Monday. The left-hander got the news on Monday morning that he would get his first Test cap against the Sri Lankans at the Galle International Stadium and he mapped out a plan of action.

Gayle comes alive with 145 not out at tea as Windies reach 238-1

Galle, Sri Lanka – Chris Gayle recorded his 13th Test match century as the West Indies took control over Sri Lanka on Day 1 of the 1st ERI Test at the Galle International Stadium in the southern coastal city of Galle. The powerful left-hander went to tea 145 off as the West Indies moved to 238-1.

From 115-1 at lunch, the Windies added 123 runs in the middle session without losing a wicket. With Gayle at the crease is debutant Darren Bravo on 32. The two left-handers have so far put together 128 runs for the second wicket in just over two hours.

Gayle and Barath make solid start as Windies reach 115-1

Galle, Sri Lanka – West Indies made an excellent start to the 1st ERI Test match reaching 115-1 at lunch on the opening day at the Galle International Stadium in the southern coastal city of Galle. Openers Chris Gayle and Adrian Barath added a superb 110 for the first wicket in just 112 minutes.

New look Windies boldly opt to bat

Galle, Sri Lanka - New West Indies captain Darren Sammy won the toss at Galle and made a positive decision by asking his new look Windies team to bat first.

The Windies management have handed Test debuts to the highly touted Trinidadian left hander Darren Bravo, younger brother of Dwayne and Jamaican fast bowling all rounder Andre Russell.

Windies ready for challenge at start of Test Series

1st ERI Cup Test Match
Galle International Stadium, Galle
Monday, November 15 to Friday, November 19
First ball 10 am (12.30 am Eastern Caribbean Time/11.30 pm Sunday Jamaica Time)

Galle, Sri Lanka – West Indies will enter the three-match ERI Cup Test Series confident they can topple Sri Lanka on their home soil. Speaking ahead of the match, skipper Darren Sammy said his players are very well prepared and have the belief that they can win in tough conditions away from home.


Subscribe to Windies Mens Team