Windies have "Spring" in their step

Bridgetown, Barbados – West Indies A Team start their Digicel Series against India A today with the buzz words of “pride, performance and progress” as a guide. Head Coach Hendy Springer outlined the team’s goals after another intense three-hour training session at Kensington Oval on Friday.

The first Digicel four-day ‘Test’ starts on Saturday. First ball is 10 am (9 am Jamaica Time).

Springer noted that while the players in the India A dressing room have played more first-class cricket and are more experienced than his players, the regional side just have to remember to play their game and not focus on the opposition.

“Any one of their players can be a danger, so the guys just have to make sure to step up and represent the West Indies well. We have to play our game as opposed to getting too deeply concerned about the opposition,” said Springer.

“Obviously in a month-long tour, you would be looking in the first at how the opposition goes about its business. They will be looking at us as well too. We are just going to go out there and play some smart cricket and learn from the experience.”

Springer, a former Barbados allrounder, noted that this was a perfect opportunity for the youngsters to get an extended first-class season. The regional first-class season is over and while some of the players had the opportunity to play country cricket and at the club level in Barbados, some were making do with just training.

“This is an opportunity to give the West Indies selectors another look at them. It is good to put your cards on the table. The reason for the West Indies A team is to give these guys an opportunity to experience first-class cricket and as some remedial work for some of them, so they can get back to the international level,” he said.

The Barbados contest will be the first of the three-Test series with matches also scheduled for Arnos Vale in St Vincent from June 9-12 and Beausejour Cricket Ground in St Lucia from June 16-19.

West Indies A
– Veerasammy Permaul (captain), Jason Holder (vice captain), Devendra Bishoo, Nkrumah Bonner, Kraigg Brathwaite, Jonathan Carter, Kyle Corbin, Delorn Johnson, Leon Johnson, Kevin McClean, Donovan Pagon, Lendl Simmons, Devon Thomas (Wicket-keeper)
India A – Cheteshwar Pujara (captain), Wriddhiman Saha (vice captain/wicket-keeper), Abhinav Mukund, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, Rahul Sharma, Ashok Dinda, Jalaj Saxena, Parviner Awana, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Robin Bisht, Akshay Darekar, Sami Ahmed

Sat, 06/02/2012 - 04:08