Wills named MVP as TSU clinch title … ‘F’ Division finish third

Guyana Chronicle article.

Georgetown, Guyana - Inspired by an impressive spell of bowling from medium pacer and man-of-the-match in the final, Rondell Wills, Tactical Services Unit (TSU) defeated giant-killers ‘B’ Division by nine wickets at the Police Sports Club ground yesterday afternoon, to take the top prize in the C. Persaud Dental Services-sponsored Guyana Police Force Commissioner of Police Inter-Division T20 competition.

Having defeated ‘E’ Division in their quarterfinal matchup the previous day, ‘B’ Division faced the Trevor Benn-led ‘F’ Division in the lone semifinal yesterday morning, following which they came away with a 23-run victory and earned the right to face TSU in yesterday afternoon’s final.

They were asked to take first strike by the eventual champions, who bowled them out for 70 after Commissioner of Police (ag) Seelall Persaud conducted the ceremonial bowl-off, with Wills recording figures of 4 for 16, backed by Kempton Grumble, Quintyn Sugrim and Rawle Haynes who took two wickets each for 8, 16 and 24 runs respectively.

Only Kord Griffith who topscored with 16 and was eighth man out at 55 in the ninth over, and Andell Doris 15 reached double figures for ‘B’ Division, who at one time were precariously placed on 41 for 7, with such batsmen as Brentnol Woolford (9), Emmanuel Davidson (5), Collis Cort (1) and Zamain Archibald (0), back in the pavilion.

Commissioner of Police (ag) Seelall Persaud (right) and exclusive sponsor of this T20 tournament Cobeer Persaud, Managing Director of C. Persaud Dental Services (left with shades), pose with the victorious Tactical Services Unit (TSU) team yesterday.

In reply, TSU raced to 74 for 1 from 9.3 overs, thanks to an unbeaten 30 from the veteran Bertie Carmichael and a robust 16 from Haynes that took him three balls to accumulate – two sixes and a four.

In fact, Haynes, went to the wicket at the demise of Stephon Blacks (5), who was brilliantly caught by a diving Dennis Moses at extra cover off Michael Newland (1 for 6), after he added 56 for the first wicket with Carmichael.

Proving that his innings the previous day in which he blasted an unbeaten 43 against ‘A’ Division was no fluke, Haynes struck the first two deliveries he received from Ryan Joe, back over the bowlers head for six, with the second coming off a no-ball, that levelled the scores.

The ensuing free-hit was hit straight back to Joe who, along with umpire Eddie Nichols, was forced to take evasive action as the ball sped away to the boundary, sealing the win for TSU in the process.

Earlier in the day, Kevis Mendonca took 4 for 14 while Benn snared 2 for 16 and Kelsey Roberts 2 for 22 for ‘F’ Division, who restricted ‘B’ Division to 105 for 8 from their 15 overs, with the match being reduced, due to seepage along with the late arrival of the Berbice-based ‘B’ Division team.

Jamal Jerrick struck two sixes and one four in his topscore of 22, receiving support from Davidson 17 (1×6, 1×4) and Woolford 12, as ‘F’ Division kept a tight rein on the proceedings.

However, disciplined bowling from ‘B’ Division, who were led by Doris’ 5 for 14 with support from Newland and Griffith with two wickets each for 2 and 17 runs respectively, catapulted ‘F’ Division’s for 83 in reply.

Benn led the scoring with his 12-ball 31 that included four sixes and one four, before he was needlessly caught on the long-on boundary by Griffith off Doris, following which ‘F’ Division’s batsmen threw their wickets away with erratic shot selections.

At the presentation ceremony that followed, Blacks and Doris received $20 000 each, after being adjudged the players with the most runs and wickets respectively, with Blacks scoring 117 and Doris taking 8 wickets. Benn and Ally, struck the most sixes – six each.

Haynes received $20 000 for the ‘most entertaining play’ in the final and Wills uplifted a trophy and $25 000 for his man-of-the-match efforts. Members of the GPF top brass, including Commissioner Persaud, assisted with the distribution of prizes to the respective winners.

First Published In The Guyana Chronicle.

Sun, 04/20/2014 - 18:25