WICB/WIPA awards today

Trinidad & Tobago Newsday article.

PORT OF SPAIN, TRINIDAD - The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) have partnered with the West Indies Players’ Association (WIPA) to stage the annual Players Award ceremony, which will take place from 7 pm today at the Hyatt Regency Hotel, Port-of-Spain.

Among the awards on offer this evening are the WI Cricketer of the Year; the Emerging Cricketer of the Year; the West Indies Test Match, One-Day International, T20 International and Women Cricketers of the Year; the Caribbean T20 Cricketer of the Year; the First-Class Team of the Year; the First-Class Four-Day and Limited Overs Cricketers of the Year; the Under-19 Team and Cricketer of the Year. 

There will be two Lifetime Achievement Awards to be presented separately by WICB and WIPA, while the triumphant West Indies T20 World Cup team will be recognised. 

Sports Minister Anil Roberts is expected to attend the event, as well as other Government Ministers and officials, members of both WICB and WIPA, and members of the West Indies, Sri Lanka and India teams (who are in the country for the continuation of the Celkon Mobile Cup).

First Published In The Trinidad & Tobago Newsday.

Thu, 07/04/2013 - 02:48